Banana Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I think that "baked oatmeal" would be a better description. I used various advice from other readers: 1/4 c white sugar & 1/4 c brown sugar; 1 1/2 tsp baking powder; 1 whole egg; added 2 scoops chocolate protein powder. I liked them, but not a family fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I really liked these-hubs not so much. I doubled the recipe. After reading reviews I added 1 cup whole wheat flour. I also subbed brown sugar for the white + 1/2 c splenda. Used a whole egg, and also added a cup of applesauce and 1/4 c nf yogurt, and about 3/4 c walnuts. These are chewy and moist, with a really mellow banana flavor. I will make these again as a healthy snack for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Photo by penniepie
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Love this recipe!! I also followed the suggestions of the others and altered my bars a little...added 1/4 c flour, 1/2 c Coconut, 1/3 c brown sugar instead of white sugar, and one whole egg, oh and instead of 2 tsp of baking powder I only did 1 1/2 tsp...the bars are super moist (not rubbery at all) I am so excited to have a good recipe to use up ripe bananas and the variations to this recipe are endless, add dried fruit or berries, nuts, apple sauce, Anything!! AWESOME :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penniepie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Five stars!!! I've substitute the bananas with pumpkin pureè because i hate the taste of cooked bananas. I used 1/3 cup brown sugar and the rest i've substitute with 0 calorie sweetener. Because i've read the other revews i also added 1/4 cup flour to the batter and cut out the raisins, but i added some chopped cashews. The flavor was supreme!!! Delicious! Thank you so much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verity

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This was a super-fast recipe and didn't leave me with many bowls or pans for cleaning up either. I omitted the raisins and added a couple teaspoons of crunchy peanut butter, as another reviewer had. I love the flavor but the consistency was average. Moist enough, but almost rubbery. Not sure what made this happen; but will try the recipe again. My kids were enthusiastic about a baked good for breakfast as well!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I was looking for something almost exactly like this. I modified it some to work as a healthy, filling, low fat protein bar. When making them, I added two scoops of chocolate soy protein and one scoop of chocolate whey protein. Next batch, I'm going to double the recipe, add some more whey protein and some sliced almonds. These make for good sustainable energy and a lasting snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
These were really weird. I find it really difficult to classify them. They were very moist, but almost wet which was kind of strange. They tasted fine but just... weird. I swapped the raisins for walnuts and I'm glad I did, I can't imagine having even more moisture in them than they had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsSaturdayNight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Croix Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
A great treat with way lower fat and calories than most desserts! I took the advice of other reviewers and used half white and half brown sugar, one whole egg instead of two egg whites, and I threw in a tablespoon of dark rum which gave it a great, rich flavor! I then totally ruined the healthy factor when I frosted the bars with cream cheese frosting (reduced fat), but it was amazing! The frosting really took the bars from a snack to a dessert, but it is worth the extra calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This recipe was very helpful to get me started with a banana oatmeal bar. I used some of the other suggestions here and I am very pleased with the results. I prefer whole oats and I added 1/4 cup bread flour, reduced to 1/4 c. white sugar, added 1/4 c. brn sugar, added pinch salt and 1 tsp. nutmeg, used 1 whole egg with 1 egg white and omitted raisins and nuts. Made a crumb topping with flour, brn. sugar and unsalted butter. Baked in 8x8 pan at 350 for 25 min. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
As is 4 stars. I cannot imagine making this in a 9x13" pan or using 2 teaspons of b. power. For a birthday dessert I made this in a 9x9" and added butterscotch & chocolate chips, and chopped walnuts. I used 1 tsp each of baking powder and soda. 30 minutes was all it needed. For myself I made a healthy version of this: 1/4 cup sugar, replaced the butter with unsweetened applesauce, unsweetened vanilla almond milk, added 2 tbsp ground flaxseed, 1 scoop of vanilla whey protein, and used 1/2 tsp each of baking soda & powder. I cannot stay out of these!! 10 gold stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cornpop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States