Banana Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Not to my liking...very rubbery. Taste wasn't too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GalantaEire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
This is very good, especially considering that it is low fat and low cal! I substituted walnuts for the raisins (my husband hates raisins, but I think they would taste fabulous in this) and halved the recipe (baked in an 8x8), as I was "baking for two." I also threw in a handful of crushed bran flakes for added fiber. Great flavor; great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
The taste is great even thought they aren't the prettiest! I used a 9x9 pan like others suggested and they turned out thicker. I will use less raisins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Great low calorie snack. Everyone at my office loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This is the best guilt-less feel good snack ever. I made slight changes to the recipe though. I used 1.5 cup bananas (2 medium sized bananas) and decreased the sugar to 1/3 cup. I used 1/3 cup skim yogurt instead of milk, 1.5 tsp cinnamon, dash of nutmeg, 1 whole egg and 1 egg white instead of 2 egg whites to produce a gooey center. I also replaced the raisins with chopped walnuts. This might contain a little more fats because of the egg yolk and walnuts, but i think it all evens out eventually and its soooo worth it. I made half into drop cookies and half into bars. The drop cookies taste wonderful with its soft center and crispy outer covering, but the bars come a very close second. Its best eaten warm right out of the oven. Thanks for posting this up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
very good, healthy bars, great for breakfast. I added wheat germ and sunflower seeds for added texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
I've made these twice now for my twin toddlers. The first time the taste was great, but as everyone said, they were pretty crumbly even when baked in an 11x7 pan. But they were good enough that I didn't want to give up so the 2nd time I added 1/4 cup flour and 1/2 cup shredded coconut and substituted about 1/3 cup brown sugar for the white sugar, still using an 11x7 pan. This time they definitely came out like *cookie* bars - a little denser but very moist and flavorful. I'm not sure if it was the flour or the coconut or both that made them stay together, but they've been a hit -- easy to cut, pick up and eat with sticky little hands. Thanks for a great idea. I think I'll try adding a nut butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
The two stars are not for the taste they are very good. BUT they fall apart and can't be cut into bars. Did you forget the flour ?? I didn't add the raisins but thought the batter was really runny. Is this a Passover dish ?? It is good with the cinnamon and sugar on top but I think if I made them again I would add a whole egg to help bind the batter together. Or some flour. I guess 5 stars for taste and 2 for apperarance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
These bars are so delicious ,and give out a flavorful aroma of cinnamon ,and banana(a perfect combo.)when baking.Everyone in my family loved them! I recommend using less sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
I left out the raisins and added two bid spoonfuls of crunchy peanut butter. They were good. Very moist. Good for in the morning when in a hurry, oatmeal is very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States