Banana Nut and Ginger Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Fantastic recipe. Absolutely delicious. I used golden raisins instead of the dates and left the rest of the recipe the same. The spices are the reason I tried this and it was not disappointed. The combination of the cinnamon, allspice, cardamom cloves and fresh ginger made boring banana bread an exotic bread. My fussy, change-adverse husband loved it! This is a 10 ten recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is delicious! I modified it a bit to make it a little healthier, and it still came out wonderful. I used applesauce in place of the oil, half brown sugar and half splenda, and espresso in place of beer. (I halved recipe since it's just two of us.) I liked the full amount of cardamom, but my husband preferred a bit less. I added a bit extra ginger and no nuts (I never liked them! I know, I'm weird!). This is SOOOO good. Even my vietnamese mother in law, who is so picky and won't eat anything I make, stole half a loaf! I think I will add some candied ginger cut up next time, too! Thanks so much for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chihuahualover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I took quite a few liberties with this recipe: took out 1/2 cup of the sugar, replaced 1/3 of the flour with whole wheat flour, and used light beer, 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice and 1/2 tsp cardamom in place of all the spices, 1/2 the walnuts, and prunes in place of dates. It still turned out good. It was better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Made some substitutions based on what I had on hand - coconut sugar for brown sugar, white whole wheat for all-purpose and left out the dates because I didn't have them. The combination of spices imparted a peppery zing. Didn't think DH would like it, but we fought over the last piece of the first loaf and he took the second one to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
A great recipe I will make again! I used coffee instead of dark beer, a heaping teaspoon of cardamom, and I added 2tbsp of butter instead of oil. I left out the dates and walnuts and made cupcakes and baked for 15min. instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This bread is delicious! I followed the recipe pretty closely, only reducing the dates by about a quarter of a cup since I didn't have quite enough, and the walnuts by about 1/2 a cup since we normally don't love nutty bread. I think this recipe is the exception. I included the full amount of cardamom, the 2T of oil and used Guiness Draught (1.5 bottles). It turned out perfectly! The crust is a bit chewy, the center is soft and fragrant. The spice level is well balanced. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This recipe doesn't have your typical banana bread taste, but the blend of spices and other ingredients make it a wonderful bread. I recommend cutting the cardamom to 1 tsp as per the advice of another reviewer; also I suggest you put in the "optional" oil. (I used safflower oil.) A great bread to make for your family or if you're having guests over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Not your average banana bread. I halved the recipe, omitted cardamom, used dried ginger and about half the amount of walnuts called for. I also used 1/2 ww flour. It has a very deep flavor, and I'm thinking would be well received by those who enjoy a spicy cookie. Great recipe, I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Really good for a richer, darker banana bread. I might've preferred to use dried dates since the fresh ones I used were kinda mushy once cooked in the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Yum! This doesn't really taste like banana bread or a ginger bread, but somewhere in between. I didn't have dark beer, so I just used regular beer. I also didn't have dates, so I used currants instead. It turns out to be a rich, moist, bread. I was a bit worried after adding the beer to the batter, bc it was a bit too runny for my comfort level, but it turned out just fine. I had to bake for an additional 15 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States