Banana Nut Yeast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Beachbaby 72
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This time I found the perfect bread with a great texture, light and fluffy. After reading reviews I added a tsp of vanilla, half tsp each of cinnamon and apple pie spice. One teaspoon of salt and shortening instead of butter just like my grandmother used in her old recipes. Voila! this bread is delicious. It may not be the healthiest I'm used to but used exact amount of flour and I mashed the crisco in with the bananas, never did that before. Look at the golden crust! Can't wait to give this out as gifts during the holidays. Very easy too, no kneading! I made a loaf and a ring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I made this with some changes - only used 3 tbsps butter, added ground flax seed (4 tbsp), added 0.5cup raisins. It's gotten rave reviews. I brought it to work because my family kept on eating it instead of dinner! It's not cakey and so it's not like "traditional" banana bread. Instead it's a bread recipe and it tastes like bread. If you look at it through that lens - that this is a BREAD not a CAKE then you'll realize it's amazingly good. If you make it expecting traditional moist cakey banana bread, you will be disappointed. I'm totally making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
So, I made this the other day, and while the taste was delicious, it was extremely crumbly. Now, this may be in part to some of the changes I made, so I'm not blaming the recipe :) First I halved the recipe ( just to test it out) and used an extra third cup of banana since some of the reviewers complained about the lack of taste. I then added 1.5 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp vanilla extracts, 1 tsp nutmeg, and used brown sugar for white for half the recipe. If I make again, I'll add even more for flavoring. I suggest NOT TO FILL THE PANS MORE THAN HALF WAY FULL!! This may be just me, but I filled them halfway (I was using different sized pans) and while it was rising and baking they overflowed! Overall, I love the taste, thanks for sharing, I will use this as a guideline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Dont be haters this recipe is fine, no need to change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azimaru

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I took the advice of others and added to this recipe. I almost doubled the banana, added an apple pie spice blend and vanilla extract. I also doubled the walnuts and for texture I added some vital wheat gluten. I also did dry milk instead of wet. It is awesome. It smelled great cooking and I ate three pieces right off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I was REALLY hoping that this would turn out well despite some of the other reviews commenting that this was lacking in taste. Sad to say, I have to agree. Great texture, but it really tastes as if something's missing. Though I don't have sweet tooth, maybe it needs more sugar? cinnamon? salt? vanilla? hmmm... But I would like to keep experimenting with this until it's more to my taste ... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
THIS WAS AN EASY RECIPE TO MAKE, BUT IT CERTAINLY LACKS IN TASTE. WILL PROBABLY NOT MAKE IT AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Made this in the week as my family like Banana tea-bread. Made rolls and a tinned loaf. Had to add alot more flour than recipe called for to make rolls but they turned out well. They had them with ham and cream cheese in their lunch boxes and they all thought they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swindon, Wiltshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Par, Cornwall, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L.P.L.
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Wow, this recipe is a bomb! I'm glad I bumped into this recipe. I made it into muffins (or rolls?) for me to take to school as lunch. They weren't too sweet and had a hint of banana flavor. Probably because they're batter bread, the texture was moist, light and tender. The only difference I did was using 1/2 cup water to dissolve the yeast and the rest was milk (or dry milk dissolved in water if milk is unavailable.) I also omitted nuts. What a nice twist from the heavy, sweet banana quick bread we're used to. I'll make them again and again! Thanks Elizabeth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.P.L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
The texture of this bread was fine and light, but it was definitely lacking in taste. My daughter and I barely tasted the banana--the bread was very bland. I'd suggest adding in cinnamon, halving the white sugar and adding brown sugar, and maybe even a teaspoon of banana extract for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by athena1970

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States