Banana Nut Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sheri O.
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Surprisingly good! This is a quick, healthy breakfast and even my 5 year old really liked it. I didn't have honey so I used some brown sugar. I will definitely do this again. The oatmeal was a little chewy so I'll add a little more milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri O.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I substituted maple syrup for honey and wheat germ for flax seeds, but this recipe was delicious anyway. Not too sweet and a great way to use ripe bananas. I will definitely make often. I also cooked it on the stove and stirred the bananas right in. Even my 1-yr old liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This was great - I used wheat germ instead of the flax - but will just eliminate it next time and use all oats. I tried pecans instead of walnuts - think either would be good. I did add a bit of brown sugar - maybe next time I'll add a dab of peanut butter to go with that banana!!! This was easy and quick and I knew exactly what I put in it - as opposed to all those packet-mix oatmeals!!! You could even do bettter than those packets - you could use this as a base (minus the banana) and add your own peaches and cream, maple and brown sugar, or apples and cinnamon!!!! Thanks for the great recipe and recipe base!!!!!!!!! Ten stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was really good as well as quick and easy. You could whip this up in no time on a morning before work. I subbed maple syrup for the honey and still used 3 tablespoons. It tasted awesome, but I think I could have cut out a tablespoon or so to reduce the sugar a little. I meant to add some cinnamon, but forgot. I'll try that next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
A very nice flavored oatmeal. I used brown sugar instead of honey, and only about 1 1/2 T because i don't like overly sweet in the morning. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I would love to give this 5 stars for everything else, but made as written, it is exceedingly sweet, too much even for this sweet tooth. I could only eat half the bowl. I will make this again, but cut the honey way down, or use a bit of maple syrup instead. Ripe bananas are pretty sweet to begin with, so 3 tbs of honey takes it too far. Also, use ground flax instead of flax seeds, as the nutrition benefits of flax are only released when the seeds are ground. Steel cut oats can be adapted to this recipe. Keep a parcooked container of steel cuts in the refrigerator to use in place of the quick oats. Still cook as directed and they will turn out great. I love the combination of banana and walnuts in this recipe. Flavor and crunch! Thanks for sharing, Sunshine7!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I was actually surprised I liked this - I don't really like walnuts and while I love bananas, I don't usually like them in things. This was great though. I used already cooked steel cut oats (so I omitted the milk), and cut the honey down to 1 tsp (as others suggested). This is a great, healthy breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Had this today instead of having a banana and a bowl of oatmeal. I sliced the banana, added the honey, water, milk to the oats and cooked in the microwave. Stirred it together and added some almond milk. It was great. Not too overwhelming on the banana flavor, and just the right creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Delicious and great for breakfast! I used wheat germ instead of flax seeds and maple syup instead of honey plus added a little cinnamon and nutmeg. I added a few additional slices of banana on top. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
My new favorite way to have oatmeal in the morning. Except I just cooked the oatmeal in water added a bit of milk to thin out after. Used chopped raw almonds instead of walnuts. And I add cinnamon but no sweeter. I prefer to not start the day with any sugar but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States