Banana Nut Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I would love to give this 5 stars for everything else, but made as written, it is exceedingly sweet, too much even for this sweet tooth. I could only eat half the bowl. I will make this again, but cut the honey way down, or use a bit of maple syrup instead. Ripe bananas are pretty sweet to begin with, so 3 tbs of honey takes it too far. Also, use ground flax instead of flax seeds, as the nutrition benefits of flax are only released when the seeds are ground. Steel cut oats can be adapted to this recipe. Keep a parcooked container of steel cuts in the refrigerator to use in place of the quick oats. Still cook as directed and they will turn out great. I love the combination of banana and walnuts in this recipe. Flavor and crunch! Thanks for sharing, Sunshine7!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Delicious and great for breakfast! I used wheat germ instead of flax seeds and maple syup instead of honey plus added a little cinnamon and nutmeg. I added a few additional slices of banana on top. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Please note, the only way to receive the benefits of flax seed is for them to be finely ground or use flax seed oil. The body can't break down flax seed in it's whole form. Therefore, there's no benefit to eating flax seed whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
What better way than to start off my morning with a warm oatmeal with bananas and walnuts! This morning I used steel cut oatmeals instead of quick cooking oats and very little skim milk. I used wheat germ instead of flax seeds and brown sugar in place of honey. I also added a few additional slices of bananas on top. This was satisfying, healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by Sheri O.
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Surprisingly good! This is a quick, healthy breakfast and even my 5 year old really liked it. I didn't have honey so I used some brown sugar. I will definitely do this again. The oatmeal was a little chewy so I'll add a little more milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri O.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This was great - I used wheat germ instead of the flax - but will just eliminate it next time and use all oats. I tried pecans instead of walnuts - think either would be good. I did add a bit of brown sugar - maybe next time I'll add a dab of peanut butter to go with that banana!!! This was easy and quick and I knew exactly what I put in it - as opposed to all those packet-mix oatmeals!!! You could even do bettter than those packets - you could use this as a base (minus the banana) and add your own peaches and cream, maple and brown sugar, or apples and cinnamon!!!! Thanks for the great recipe and recipe base!!!!!!!!! Ten stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I reduced the honey to one tablespoon and it was still WAY too sweet. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I used 1 TBS wheat germ and only 1 TBS honey. Turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
A bit too sweet, but realize that flax not only needs to be ground but it also looses its nutritional value when it is heated - so don't waste your money on the flax seed (or any other product that is cooked with flax seeds/oil).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is Rebeccas recipe but she puts cinnamon in before cooking. Also she wouldn't put as much honey in as this recipe. Maybe half this amount. After cooking she adds sliced banana, handful of craisins & more milk if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States