Banana Nut Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I used old fashioned oats and followed the microwave instructions for one cup, I doubled the rest of these ingredients and used ground flax seed. I found it was absolutely perfect. I think that the recipe as is would be way too sweet. I had four times as much oatmeal and twice as much of everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Excellent quick and easy breakfast. My 21 month old loved it, walnuts and all. Followed the advice of other reviewers and used only 1 Tbs of honey. Great way to use those bananas that always seem to ripen way too fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I cooked it on the stove because I was making a double serving for me and my husband. I added cinnamon and lite maple syrup to taste (maybe 1 teaspoon of each?). I didn't have walnuts, but pecans were great in it. I've had almonds in my oatmeal before -- also good! I did use bananas, but you could also add apples, peaches, strawberries, whatever fresh or canned fruit you have on hand. I used half 2% and half water, and added the ground flax seed on the top after it was done cooking -- you never want to cook flax seed, as it gets lumpy and nasty that way, and I've also heard that cooks out the nutrients. Overall, a good starter recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicianr67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I used almond milk and toasted walnuts. Mixed the bananas into the oatmeal. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
The concept of this recipe, in my opinion, deserves 3 stars. You do have to change the flax seeds to be sure you used ground flax seeds. And, that is too much honey, way too sweet. But, I used ground flax seed, less honey, and I used old fashion oats and just put the honey, banana, flax seed and walnuts on at the end. I eat this at least once a week, thanks for inspiring a healthy breakfast I can add to my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This recipe would have been very good but there was WAY to much honey in it. It was so sweet I couldnt stand to eat it all. Next time i will put only 1 tablespoon of honey, then it will be very delicous! But thanks for a great oatmeal recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This oatmeal has good flavor, but I think adding cinnamon and nutmeg would make it five stars. I used honey but since other reviewers said it was a bit too sweet with 3 tbsp, I added it a tbsp at a time until it was just sweet enough for me (ended up being just under 2 tbsp). I like the idea of using maple syrup, I'll be trying that next time. This is a nice, filling breakfast on those cold mornings. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I cut way back on the honey, maybe added a couple teaspoons and that was plenty. Overall, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I reduced the honey to one tablespoon and it was still WAY too sweet. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Good, but too sweet. I only use about 1-2 t honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States