Banana Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I omitted the lemon zest, replaced the oil that the recipe asked for with 1/3 cup of applesauce, added an extra 1/4 cup of bananas, and also added some extra chopped walnuts, as it seemed like there weren't quite enough. I don't have a standard-sized muffin tin, so I just filled my 24-mini-muffin-tin. The result? Heavenly, and even lower in fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
We added a package of vanilla instant pudding mix and 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup milk to the batter for added moistness. Cut down the oil to 1 TBSP. Added 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon and 1/2 cup rolled oats. Also put in about 1 and 1/2 cups of mashed banana. Baked in our oven at 350 for 23 minutes. Delish! Would be great with mini chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
This will be a great muffin for my husband and kids to "grab n go" in the morning. I doubled the recipe, cut back on the white sugar, added 1/2 C brown sugar, and it gave them a wonderful bronze color and flavor! I omitted the lemon zest, and instead simply added Vanilla Extract. I increased the amount of banana as well, using 4 large ripe bananas. I also added extra walnuts for more protein content. All in all I will probably be making this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunland, California, USA
Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
So easy and good!! I was a bit lazy, so I used whole eggs ( instead of just whites). Also, measured 1/2 cup of walnuts. They came out perfect! Me, my husband and my 10 y.old loved them. Keeper!:) Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRISAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Very delicious muffins, although I did a few alterations. I used whole wheat flour and omitted the zest. I also Cut up length wise a piece of banana and put it in the center of the muffin which made it so moist and a nice surprise in the middle. And you can also add some blueberries to make it even more delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
Love, love, love this recipe. Didn't change anything and will definately make again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
These muffins are really easy to make and very good. I do recommend adding more walnuts then the recipe calls for. And i used one whole egg and one egg white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
the perfect amount of bananalicous flavor all wrapped up in a muffin! a definite winner with my roommate! i added extra walnuts and about a cup of flaky, multi-grain cereal for extra texture. then i mixed that same cereal with some brown sugar to create a sweet and crunchy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
I found these muffins to be very dry. I will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
These muffins were delicious!! The lemon zest made it wonderfully refreshing! I will definitely make them again. I added 1/2 cup of walnuts instead of 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States