Banana Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
The recipe was wonderful. It was my first time ever making muffins from scratch! I cut the recipe in half because I only had 1 banana. I did make some changes. Instead of vegetable oil I used butter. I used pecans because I didn't have any walnuts. I added white chocolate chips too! Otherwise, everything was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Muffins are very mild in flavor, next time I may add a little bit more banana, but they were easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Wonderful recipe!! sometimes I omit the nuts and add chocolate chips!! this is a family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FarahM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
If you top these right then these banana muffins transform themselves into muffins for the masses. These muffins are for people that typically can't stand banana bread/muffins or anything banana flavored for that matter. With that said, I followed everybody's advice and added my own banana-taming ingredients: added the cinnamon, added the vanilla, used olive oil, 2 cups pureed banana, 1 cup all purpose, 1/2 cup whole wheat, 3 tsp baking powder, 1 whole egg, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 tbsp fresh squeezed OJ, 1 tbsp oatmeal, 2 tbsp crushed frosted fiber one mini wheats, and oats/almonds/soy nuts. Keep the nuts out of the batter. The nuts on top warn people with nut allergies to skip over to the nut-free table. Toppings I used (just mix and scoop on top of muffin batter) 1. crushed almonds and maple syrup 2. crushed toasted soy nuts and dark honey 3. oats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Yum! Like most, I changed some things. I used orange zest instead of lemon. Added a 1/4 cup extra banana and a dash of vanilla. And I doubled the walnuts and exchanged apple sauce for the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
THIS IS YUMMY!!! i know my husband will love them I DO !! i put more nuts and bananas but they are still beyond awesome i sooo saved this and will be using it soon :) again and again LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alanswife09

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
very good. I used 1 whole egg instead of 2 egg whites and crushed up walnuts on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
The best muffin recipe I've found! I used pecans instead of walnut because that's what I had in the cabinet, and I used 1/2 cup of nuts instead of 1/4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candace
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
The rating may be fault. I modified the recipe and used Splenda and low sodium salt for a healthier alternative. Although the taste was good, the texture was rubbery and the batter cemented itself to the paper cups. Next time I'll kick the fake stuff and go native!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
After reading others suggestions I made the following changes: 1/4 cup white sugar, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 tsp. vanilla extract, 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, 1 3/4 cups mashed bananas (about 3 1/2 bananas) and 1/2 tsp cinnamon. They were great..low cal and quick to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States