Banana Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
With a lot of changes these are really good muffins! As is? They were just ok, might taste good to some people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This is the best banana nut muffin recipe I've made, but I would use pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinamin27

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This recipe was ok. I think it would have been better if I would have followed it exactly. I doubled the recipe using 1/2 ww flour and didn't have any veg. oil after all my holiday baking so I used melted margarine. The muffins were ok, but nothing special. I am continuing my search for a healty muffin that doesn't taste boring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Great recipe and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seb

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Cooked too long - need to reduce cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha Fischer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grandview, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
These are fantastic. I used three banana's, added a smidgen of vanilla and exchanged the nuts for 1/2 cup of chocolate chips due to allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Weren't spectacular, but no real complaints. Used the lemon zest, but couldn't really taste much of it in the muffins. Also, didn't have any walnuts on hand so substituted chopped cashews. (omitted the salt to balance). The kids love them and they're definitely a "healthier" muffin. Overall a good go-to recipe for those elderly bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Delicious. I followed the directions exactly, except I added some cinammon, and used 1/2 cup of applesauce and 1/2 of the vegetable oil called for. I also added a handful of chocolate chips (cant help it, I love bananas and chocolate!). Once the muffins were done, I let them cool until I could handle them and placed them in an air-tight container. They have remained moist and tasty, and I will likely make these again. Next time, I may try 1/2 ww flour and 1/2 white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaliLama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I would love to give this 5 stars, but I made so many changes, I wouldn't be rating the original recipe. It's an excellent base, though! I wanted something a bit more nourishing (and wheat-free due to allergies), so I used 3/4 cup white spelt flour, 1/2 cup whole spelt flour, and 1/4 cup flaxmeal in place of the AP flour. I also used 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 tbs. agave syrup and 1 packet of stevia in place of the white sugar, and I reduced the oil (olive) to 2 tbs. I whipped the egg whites to soft peaks and folded them into the batter with the nuts at the end. They baked for 20 minutes and came out beautifully--light and fluffy! My only complaint is that while I filled 12 standard-sized muffin cups, there was only enough batter to fill the cups halfway, and the result was teeny tiny muffins! This recipe really only makes enough batter for 8 standard-sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Just made this, this very morning, nothing special. Did everything but the lemon zest, that might have made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States