Banana Nut Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This is one of the best frostings I have EVER had! So delicious! I used it on fresh bananna cake with a vanilla custard filling. Thank you! I think this would also be delicious on a butter cookie or chocolate cake. It's almost like a bannana version of the frosting used for german chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This frosting is super delicious! It was easy, but just difficult mixing. I gradually creamed together 2 cups of the sugar with the softened butter and it was stiff instead of light & fluffy. So I blended in the banana and then added the remaining sugar gradually until smooth. It was the perfect topping to the banana cake I found at this site. The coconut made all the difference in giving my cake other flavor than just banana. I will use this recipe again and again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This was even more amazing than I thought it was going to be. I only used half of the amount of powdered sugar since the banana cupcakes I was putting it on were plenty sweet. I also used walnuts instead because I prefer them. DEFINATELY toast the coconut and the nuts before you add them it! It adds the best flavor! Be careful not to whip it too much because the banana starts to separate from the butter. To solve this I threw the nuts and coconut in while they were still warm, which melted it all back together. Then I put it in the fridge until it cooled down and was a spreadable consistancy. I frosted 22 cupcakes and still had some leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2000
This frosting is SO easy and it tastes GREAT (it tastes even better the next day). My 4 yr old and I had a great time making it for his Grannies Birthday Cake, especially mashing up the banana. I will never buy frosting from a tub again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
This recipe was so easy to make and so very good to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I did half the recipe for a square cake. I was looking for a frosting to save a rather unsweet banana crumb cake. This frosting worked good for that. I used chopped walnuts as thats what was in the cake. I thought it was rather tasty and suitable before the coconut and nuts were added. I might try it again in the future without them. But, I also prefer a smoother frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by LaurenM
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This frosting is absolutely delicious. I used it on top of the banana cupcakes from this site and everyone loved it. I didn't mix the pecans and coconut into the frosting, I just sprinkled them on top. Perfect. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I made this frosting for the Black chocolate Cake (also from allrecipes). It was really good together! I left out the coconut and pecans (because i didn't have any) and it turned out really good with great banana flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Although it tasted good, it was nothing but a runny mess! I couldn't get it to fluff. it did not frost it was more like icing....very soggy icing. Sorry but I won't be using this recipe again :\
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Delicious! Made on top of banana cupcakes. Was a hit! I creamed butter and half the sugar. Then added bananas, pecans and coconut. Then added in sugar to taste. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States