Banana Nut Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I felt like it was very very sweet! 4 cups of confectioners' sugar was too much and even after cutting it down it was still very thick & sweet for me. I really wanted to like this one because it's so unique and the perfect filling for a monkey shaped cake I made for my son's b-day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissasMeals

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Jess and I LOVED it....Mike thought it was good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Used 3 cups of icing sugar instead of 4. I found that the banana seperated from the icing (my fault I think - I might have over-beaten it), but I put it in the fridge to harden a bit and all was well. Love the crunch of the pecans and the mild coconut flavour. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
YUMMY!!! I must say though it's very sweet! I didn't use coconut because I didn't have any so I added crushed walnuts instead. I can't imagine if I had added the flaked coconut from my super market because I'm sure I would've found a tooth cavity :o) But it was delicious!!! I will make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
AMAZING...I think that sums it up! Honest, it was the best frosting (especially for a banana cake) that I have ever tasted. The coconut really puts a yummy twist to the flavour. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This was even more amazing than I thought it was going to be. I only used half of the amount of powdered sugar since the banana cupcakes I was putting it on were plenty sweet. I also used walnuts instead because I prefer them. DEFINATELY toast the coconut and the nuts before you add them it! It adds the best flavor! Be careful not to whip it too much because the banana starts to separate from the butter. To solve this I threw the nuts and coconut in while they were still warm, which melted it all back together. Then I put it in the fridge until it cooled down and was a spreadable consistancy. I frosted 22 cupcakes and still had some leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Such an easy recipe! I used half the amount of confectionery sugar, since I did not want it so sweet. It tasted wonderful, and was so light and fluffy. A perfect mate to the banana cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Manke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Incredible recipe for frosting, I used this for a banana cake and was yummy ! This would also be good on a German chocolate cake and even for bars. so good, thanks for a great frosting, definitely a keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mint Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This frosting is super delicious! It was easy, but just difficult mixing. I gradually creamed together 2 cups of the sugar with the softened butter and it was stiff instead of light & fluffy. So I blended in the banana and then added the remaining sugar gradually until smooth. It was the perfect topping to the banana cake I found at this site. The coconut made all the difference in giving my cake other flavor than just banana. I will use this recipe again and again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I really like this frosting and others did as well. It was a bit sweet though I might have to cut back on the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracie&gabrielsmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States