Banana Nut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ItsmeCrizza
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Tried this recipe a while ago.. My husband super liked it.. :) instead of pecans I tried walnuts and i made a cream cheese frosting instead. Super delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I made this for a friends birthday and it was awesome. I took it to work and everybody loved it. It wasn't really cake like as far as it being tall and airy....it was like a banana nut bread. The icing I used was from one of the reviews...it has nuts/banana/powdered sug/butter and the icing on it really made it. I didn't change a thing. Made mine in 9x13 pan. will certainly make again the same way or maybe try in a bundt...think that'd be pretty if it rises enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrapandbake

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I lovvee this recipe! I made this for my dad on fathers day and he loved it so much. I added nutmeg and only cooked it for 20 minutes because I used a cookie sheet instead of pans. It is super moist. For the frosting I used the whipped frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Our family loved this cake! Reminds me of the one that our Mother made when we was kids. This recipe is a keeper. This recipe calls for buttermilk if you don't have it this is how to make it. Buttermilk Add 1 cup milk and 1 3/4 tablespoons of cream of tartar or lemon juice in a pitcher. (I use lemon juice) Stir the mixture and let it sit out for 15 to 20 minutes. Stir it again once the milk begins to curdle. Place the pitcher in the refrigerator until it is chilled. You can then use this for the baking or cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deereyes
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This is a fantastically delicious cake! I did not make the frosting because I normally don't care for frosting. Besides, after making the cake, the cake was very moist that it didn't need frosting anyway. I used four (on the large size) ripe banana's. I needed to do something with the banana's before they got bad. One thing I wish i had done was read the recipe more than twice- I didn't realize I had to wisk the egg whites :( It took me at least 1/2 hour to do it by hand (my mixture was already in the Kenmore mixer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deereyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This cake was excellent, I made it as a bundt cake and used regular milk, and "I can't believe it's not butter" and tweaked the frosting a bit. Imagine if i had used the butter milk and real butter, it would have tasted even better. My family loved it. I made it one day.. and the next almost all of it was gone. I'm keeping this recipe and can't wait to make it again for our next potluck at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Love this cake - on the weekend, I only had two bananas so I added a hand full of defrosted raspberries and hazelnuts instead of pecan. I think whipping the whites and folding it through is the secret, it keeps the cake light. Super Yummy. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I just made this cake and it turned out great, very moist. I added nutmeg to give it an extra kick. I also used whole milk instead of butter milk. I made it in a bundt form no icing needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Great recipe. Made it in a 9 X 13 and iced it wth cream cheese icing. Had company and everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I've never let a review before - but I have to say this recipe is the best!!! I've never made a banana nut cake before and was worried about it being too dry or bland - this recipe is WONDERFUL!!! My husband ate 1/2 of the test cake. And my work loved it! Moist, flavorful, just simply wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States