Banana Nut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
cake is good and does not need frosting. I did everything as stated except I add only 1 cup of sugar and still tasted good and I also made it in a bundt pan.baked approx 40 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
Wow, was this cake good!! This was the same recipe my mom had in her recipe file, except hers called for shortening. Now I have it online! I HIGHLY recommend the icing she uses: 1 stick melted butter or margarine, 16 oz. box of powdered sugar, 1 mashed banana, 1/2 cup chopped pecans. Cream butter until fluffy, gradually add powdered sugar, and beat well. Beat in mashed banana. Stir in pecans. WOW! The cake looks so impressive with pecan halves pressed on the top outer layer, too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Very very good cake, I made this with whipped cream cream cheese frosting, also on this site, and used walnuts. It was delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
All through the process of making this cake I had planned to rate it poorly. It is not a luxurious, silky batter, first of all. In fact, it's kind of curdly, which concerned me from the get-go. After it baked I was disappointed in how thin the layers were, and at this point I gave serious consideration to cutting my losses and not bothering to frost it, as it was not going to be the tall, magnificent layer cake that I had envisioned. Removing the layers from the pans and finding them sticky only made matters worse. Even so, I decided to go ahead with the frosting plans. One taste of this and everything I had assumed I'd be negatively saying about this recipe went right out the window. It is super moist, almost too moist, but rather that than too dry. And simply packed with banana flavor, this cake is really, decadently delicious. So why only four stars? I still believe something is off here. The cake is so moist it makes for a texture that simply doesn't look right. And, had I known the layers would be SO thin, I'd have made 1-1/2 times the recipe and still baked it in 2-9" round layer cake pans. Not as attractive a cake as I had hoped for, but certainly as big on taste as I had hoped for. I chose not to use the nuts but except for that I strictly stuck to the recipe. These thin layers were baked in 23 minutes, so watch baking time carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2000
This cake tastes WONDERFUL! I did not make the icing because it was for a wedding cake. I also used this recipe to make petit fours. It is very moist and flavorful, I plan to use it many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I don't know what went wrong, but I was not pleased with this recipe. The only changes I made were to omit the nuts and to bake as cupcakes, with paper liners. I baked for approximately 20 minutes at 350, and the cupcakes were very dark on the top and didn't rise very much. All of my ingredients were fresh (except for the slightly overripe bananas), so I know it wasn't that. I didn't overbeat, so it wasn't that either. The egg whites were folded in gently, so eliminate that as well. I do know that 1 1/2 cups of sugar to only 1/2 cup of butter is not the right ratio. The mixture didn't cream properly; it stayed somewhat dry and crumbly even after beating on high on my kitchenaid for about 5 minutes. The cupcakes weren't at all cakelike; they were chewy and greasy (it even soaked through the paper liners to the pans). Maybe this recipe is good when baked in a 9" round, but not as cupcakes. I'm really sorry, but I'll be sticking with my favorite banana nut muffin recipe when I have bananas "on the edge"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
VERY GOOD AND EASY TO MAKE. USED A 9 X 13 PAN TO SVE TIME, ADDED CINNAMON AND NUTMEG TO MAKE IT SPICY. VERY GOOD WITH CREAM CHEESE ICING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This cake turned out fantastic! It is very moist and yummy. Instead of two pans, I made it in a bundt pan (it took 32 minutes to cook). Fabulous! And I don't think it needs any frosting - it's great the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
Very very tasty. I used regular milk because I didn't have buttermilk, and half walnuts and half pecans because that's what I had, and it still came out great. My boyfriend loved it. He took the pan to work and everyone devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIGIGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I made this for an office birthday party and received rave reviews! This is a very moist and flavorful cake, perfect made exactly according to the recipe. I frosted it with Cream Cheese frosting with pecans. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States