Banana Nut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Wow, so moist and bananay! This is the BEST banana cake I've ever had! I used the Banana Cream Frosting from this site and I could hardly stop myself from eating it! Thanks for an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethel Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This cake is wonderful! I didn't use the icing though, instead looked up a banana icing recipe and used it instead and the results were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This cake turned out fantastic! It is very moist and yummy. Instead of two pans, I made it in a bundt pan (it took 32 minutes to cook). Fabulous! And I don't think it needs any frosting - it's great the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Great flavor, but the layers were really sticky and hard to frost. Maybe I should have stuck with the glaze from in the recipe (I just used a regular buttercream frosting). They were also very flat, almost like banana-flavored pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Munster, Indiana, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This turned out actually pretty good. I did go thru the other reviews. My only changes were, I did cut back on the sugar to a little over 1 cup. I did add 1 teas of apple pie spice, and added 1/2 teas apple pie spice as well, to my own cream cheese/10x sugar glaze with a little white vanilla. I used cake flour instead of all purpose, but I am sure using all purpose would have been fine as well. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Very very good cake, I made this with whipped cream cream cheese frosting, also on this site, and used walnuts. It was delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
VERY GOOD AND EASY TO MAKE. USED A 9 X 13 PAN TO SVE TIME, ADDED CINNAMON AND NUTMEG TO MAKE IT SPICY. VERY GOOD WITH CREAM CHEESE ICING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This is one of the best cakes I've made. Once I made it for my friend's surprise baby shower and she swore that it was her mother's recipe. Needless to say, she was very pleased with the results and couldn't say thank you enough. I'm definitely saving the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I don't know what went wrong, but I was not pleased with this recipe. The only changes I made were to omit the nuts and to bake as cupcakes, with paper liners. I baked for approximately 20 minutes at 350, and the cupcakes were very dark on the top and didn't rise very much. All of my ingredients were fresh (except for the slightly overripe bananas), so I know it wasn't that. I didn't overbeat, so it wasn't that either. The egg whites were folded in gently, so eliminate that as well. I do know that 1 1/2 cups of sugar to only 1/2 cup of butter is not the right ratio. The mixture didn't cream properly; it stayed somewhat dry and crumbly even after beating on high on my kitchenaid for about 5 minutes. The cupcakes weren't at all cakelike; they were chewy and greasy (it even soaked through the paper liners to the pans). Maybe this recipe is good when baked in a 9" round, but not as cupcakes. I'm really sorry, but I'll be sticking with my favorite banana nut muffin recipe when I have bananas "on the edge"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I will make again and again. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States