Banana Nut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This cake turned out fantastic! It is very moist and yummy. Instead of two pans, I made it in a bundt pan (it took 32 minutes to cook). Fabulous! And I don't think it needs any frosting - it's great the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Great flavor, but the layers were really sticky and hard to frost. Maybe I should have stuck with the glaze from in the recipe (I just used a regular buttercream frosting). They were also very flat, almost like banana-flavored pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Munster, Indiana, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This turned out actually pretty good. I did go thru the other reviews. My only changes were, I did cut back on the sugar to a little over 1 cup. I did add 1 teas of apple pie spice, and added 1/2 teas apple pie spice as well, to my own cream cheese/10x sugar glaze with a little white vanilla. I used cake flour instead of all purpose, but I am sure using all purpose would have been fine as well. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Very very good cake, I made this with whipped cream cream cheese frosting, also on this site, and used walnuts. It was delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
VERY GOOD AND EASY TO MAKE. USED A 9 X 13 PAN TO SVE TIME, ADDED CINNAMON AND NUTMEG TO MAKE IT SPICY. VERY GOOD WITH CREAM CHEESE ICING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This is one of the best cakes I've made. Once I made it for my friend's surprise baby shower and she swore that it was her mother's recipe. Needless to say, she was very pleased with the results and couldn't say thank you enough. I'm definitely saving the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I don't know what went wrong, but I was not pleased with this recipe. The only changes I made were to omit the nuts and to bake as cupcakes, with paper liners. I baked for approximately 20 minutes at 350, and the cupcakes were very dark on the top and didn't rise very much. All of my ingredients were fresh (except for the slightly overripe bananas), so I know it wasn't that. I didn't overbeat, so it wasn't that either. The egg whites were folded in gently, so eliminate that as well. I do know that 1 1/2 cups of sugar to only 1/2 cup of butter is not the right ratio. The mixture didn't cream properly; it stayed somewhat dry and crumbly even after beating on high on my kitchenaid for about 5 minutes. The cupcakes weren't at all cakelike; they were chewy and greasy (it even soaked through the paper liners to the pans). Maybe this recipe is good when baked in a 9" round, but not as cupcakes. I'm really sorry, but I'll be sticking with my favorite banana nut muffin recipe when I have bananas "on the edge"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I will make again and again. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This recipe is fantastic. I would also recommend reducing sugar to 1c because with the full amount the cake was VERY sweet and sticky when cooled. Also used walnuts instead of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
cake is good and does not need frosting. I did everything as stated except I add only 1 cup of sugar and still tasted good and I also made it in a bundt pan.baked approx 40 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States