Banana Nut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Great cake! I followed the recipe exactly except used 1 cup of sugar instead of 1.5 and added some dried mango I had lying around. It is definitely sweet enough and great without any frosting. Brought some to work and everyone loved it. I'll be making this again whenever I have overripe bananas to get rid of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by putergram
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I followed this recipe as written, only omitting pecans as family doesn't like them. The cake is delicious or as my grandson says "it's the bomb". It's not a pretty cake but the taste makes up for the appearance. I did have a hard time getting the cakes out of the pans. Next time I won't let it rest so long. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by putergram

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
All through the process of making this cake I had planned to rate it poorly. It is not a luxurious, silky batter, first of all. In fact, it's kind of curdly, which concerned me from the get-go. After it baked I was disappointed in how thin the layers were, and at this point I gave serious consideration to cutting my losses and not bothering to frost it, as it was not going to be the tall, magnificent layer cake that I had envisioned. Removing the layers from the pans and finding them sticky only made matters worse. Even so, I decided to go ahead with the frosting plans. One taste of this and everything I had assumed I'd be negatively saying about this recipe went right out the window. It is super moist, almost too moist, but rather that than too dry. And simply packed with banana flavor, this cake is really, decadently delicious. So why only four stars? I still believe something is off here. The cake is so moist it makes for a texture that simply doesn't look right. And, had I known the layers would be SO thin, I'd have made 1-1/2 times the recipe and still baked it in 2-9" round layer cake pans. Not as attractive a cake as I had hoped for, but certainly as big on taste as I had hoped for. I chose not to use the nuts but except for that I strictly stuck to the recipe. These thin layers were baked in 23 minutes, so watch baking time carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This cake is great but I made it better by adding 1/2 cup lard. As my grand mother made this same cake and it was made with lard. I also added vanilla and banana flavoring. All though my grand ma made this most every weekend she made it into cupcakes And we all enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I ADDED A TEASPOON OF VANILLA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I don't often say this: This cake is perfect. Moist. Full of flavor. I even made it gluten-free (due to my body's needs), and it was sensational. I did use some brown sugar because I didn't have enough white sugar on hand. I also added vanilla to the icing and pinch of salt. Sooo good. Big hit with my fiance and our friends, who know also have the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
What a moist and delicious cake! It really tasted it's best on the second and third day. I used a cream cheese frosting and everyone loved it. I will use this recipe often . Thank you Suzanne for sharing this recipe with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This is a Wonderful Recipe. I have been looking for one that tastes like what my Grandmother used make, and this is what I remember it tasting like. I baked this for a Christmas Party and everyone loved them. I baked small little decorative Cakes just a little bigger than Cup Cakes. In a Decorative 6 holder Metal Pan "non stick , but i sprayed bakers joy, and in each a sprinkled just a little sugar and cinnamon" They had a nice crust to the top and the inside was nice and moist. *I will say that when you mix the butter and sugar it doesn't cream, but it does get more creamy once you add the egg yolks and vanilla.* * plus allow a minute or two for the Buttermilk and Baking Soda it rise* it will rise about 1/4 more than what you start with. So I suggest mixing the buttermilk and baking soda 1st then separate the eggs. *you will need 2 mixing bowls 1 for the egg whites to be whipped up in, and 1 for all the other ingredients that are mixed together.* Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Wow, so moist and bananay! This is the BEST banana cake I've ever had! I used the Banana Cream Frosting from this site and I could hardly stop myself from eating it! Thanks for an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethel Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This cake is wonderful! I didn't use the icing though, instead looked up a banana icing recipe and used it instead and the results were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States