Banana Nut Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
It was good. I used whole wheat flour instead of white, omitted the oil (only because all I had in the pantry was my super-fancy EVOO and I was not wasting that on banana bread). Instead of one cup of white sugar (yikes!), I used 1/4 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup maple syrup (to make up for not using oil). With the alterations, it was awesome. I used slightly more bananas than the recipe called for, and that also helped with the moistness factor. I gave it 3 stars for the original recipe, but with the changes I made (I also threw in a handful of oatmeal and put some chopped walnuts on top before baking), it would probably be 4 1/2 stars. I mean, it's been out of the oven for about 15 minutes and there's only one piece left out of two loaves, so I'm guessing my kids approve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This banana nut bread was fantastic! My husband and I both went back for seconds! I did make some modifications to make it healthier, since I am diabetic: 1 cup all purpose flour and 3/4 cup whole wheat flour & 1/2 cup sugar and 4 teaspoons Sweet and Low. We couldn't even taste the missing sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theguts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I definitely suggest to add more bananas to add to the banana flavor, but serving warm with butter is heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Quick, easy and delicious! What could be better than that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Super good! No modifications necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
The only thing I have to say is YUMMMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Goodwin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Very easy. Mine turned out a little dry but it was because of my oven temp. Lesson learned, know how hot your oven bakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I love this recipe. Thank you soo much for sharing. I did use walnuts instead of pecans and I did add about 1/4 of a cup more of bananas. I also took others advice and covered the loaf once it reached a golden brown top. I bake it in just one 5x9 and it comes out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Delish!!! A great starter recipe! I made a few changes after making the recipe as is a few times. My most recent recipe was our favorite yet. I used 3 medium bananas (didn't measure). Upped the cinnamon to 1 1/2 tsp, added 1/8 tsp ground ginger and topped with cinnamon sugar before baking. I always make muffins- so 18 mins in the oven and they come out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I made this recipe twice, once as stated the 2nd with a few adjustments. As stated, it wasn't bad whatsoever but kind of dry. Per what other uses said, I increased the banana to about 3 large bananas (almost 2 cups) and added a little cinnamon to it 1/4 tsp. This time it came out WONDERFUL. Also, per another user, I did cover the bread about 20 minutes before it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States