Banana Nut Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
My Breadman machine has a "batter breads" cycle...which means you can use this recipe without premixing ingredients...the whole cycle is 1 hour 40 minutes and does the mixing and baking. I only bake with butter, and this bread was so yummy, I may have eaten half of it myself!!! Great recipe and so much more moist than conventional loaf-pan baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
Yum! I substituted 1/2 cup of applesauce in place of the margarine to cut down the fat content & it still turned out great. My husband & I have already polished off one loaf & I made a fresh one today. Very good, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
Excellent recipe. Used a Welbilt (ABMY2K1) with Quick cycle that consists of a 3 minute Knead1, a 5 minute rest, a 5 minute Knead2, and a 90 minute bake. Did not have to pre-mix, just dumped in all of the ingredients. The bread cooked thoroughly and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
The taste was good but cake sunk in the middle. It was probably not completely done. Also, it was very crumbly and messy. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
Great, moist (with not too much fat), but my quick bread/cake cycle was over 4 hours!!! Unlike the other reviews, it DID bake all the way through perfectly. I might try just dumping it all in the machine next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2000
We used three defrosted overripe bananas (we store them in the freezer) and a cup or so of chopped pecans in this recipe and the bread came out delicious. Our bread machine doesn't have "quick cycle/cake" so we baked at on "Bake" setting for about an hour and a half. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
We used unsweetened applesauce in place of the margarine and added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. It was well received at our dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmela McCleary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
Delicious! The children loved it, too. Very moist; more like cake than bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
this bread was pretty good. i'm not sure yet whether i like it better than my aunt's recipe, but we still enjoyed it. i used pecans instead of walnuts. much more like a cake than bread, but still very delish. i did not premix this before putting it in my bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
wow!!! this bread/cake is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States