Banana Nut Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I suggest not making this recipe in a breadmaker. It would be fine to bake it in an oven. Here is what happened to me: 1) the breadmaker didn't completely mix the ingredients. There was a bunch of flour left on the bottom and corners when the bread was done. Also, the stick of margarine wouldn't get mixed--it just floated on the surface as the breadmaker mixed the other ingredients. (I'm aware the instructions say to mix completely before adding to the breadmaker, but if you are going to do that, why not just put it in the oven, too?) 2) the breadmaker sloshed ingredients onto the sides and this burnt. If you stopped the breadmaker before this burnt, the bread wasn't half done. 3) My breadmaker had no setting for cake/bread that doesn't use yeast. All of the settings had a rise stage. This is certainly unnecessary and possibly bad for this recipe. 4) My breadmaker didn't bake this nearly long enough. Most of the middle was completely liquid, so I had to reset the breadmaker at a "bake" setting. The bread thus had burnt stuff on some edges and unmixed stuff on others. The bread tasted great, however. It is just that a breadmaker is the wrong tool to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I love the heavy consistancy of this bread. I put my bread on quick cycle in my Oster Bread machine and just add all the ingrediants. except I use melted butter instead of margerine. If I have thawed frozen bannanas I can just add them in, if they are just over ripe I have to mash them first of the bread machine will not fully do the job. I also dont like nuts so never add them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
made exactly as the recipe said but added vanilla, and it was very nice. Next time I won't mix it before I put it in the machine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanoush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Absolutely the best banana bread!!!! I basically followed the original. I did as others did by adding all the ingredients in the order listed into my Welbilt bread maker. I added a dash of vanilla, but everything else I kept the same. When the maker was done with the quick bread cycle (1hr 43m) I took the pan out of the maker and let the bread stay in it until completely cool. This helped finish cooking the bread. SUPER moist and it even has a bit of glaze on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Sherrod

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Very good recipe, my Breville breadmaker needed an additional 25 minutes to complete the bake cycle. It's not explicit in the manual but the collapsible paddle should be down before starting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
loved the recipe! Used more bananas tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by josiejaz11
Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Colby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I cooked this in a Zojirushi Home Bakery Supreme on the quick cycle, and I was a little worried because I saw on some of the reviews that it didn't cook all the way through. When it beeped finished, sure enough, it was still a little too damp in the middle. My machine has a 1-hour keep warm cycle, which I know not to use because it it too hot and continues to cook. Well, I left the bread in through this cycle and it came out completely cooked without being overdone. I'm going to have to work out how to change the banana ratio for next time, as we like a stronger banana flavor though, and instead of walnuts I dumped in about 3/4 cup of chocolate chips that I had leftover from something else. I'll definitely make this again, but I'm going to have to play with it to get it just right for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DustysMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
My first bad review ever...I thought it was really to heavy and dense, took almost 2 hours to cook in my bread machine, even then the flavor was off, I think it's missing vanilla, didn't care for it at all, I also think the other recipe I use that calls for 1.5 cups of flour is better, not so brick-heavy...sorry, didn't do it for me..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Very yummy and moist. I added chocolate chips. Made it twice,first time wih applesauce and second time with butter; both are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States