Banana Nut Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I am using Kenwood breadmaker. After the cake cycle is done, the top of the cake is not cook through. Any tips or suggestions from kenwood user on this? Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ng Lay Lien

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Fantastic! I didn't have margarine, so had to substitute butter, but otherwise I added a teaspoon of vanilla and some cinnamon and nutmeg (someone gave me a ton and I had to use it up). No problem cooking, came out toothpick perfect each time I made it. I'll be buying extra bananas just to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Absolutely awesome!!! However I did have to substitute some things, due to me not having the proper ingredients on hand (my stupidity - thought I had the proper ingredients). I used water instead of milk; 3 large over-ripe bananas (mashed), instead of 2/3 cup; and used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. When cooking the above, I used the full bread setting (Basic, Bake 3:20). With my machine I should have increased the time by 20 minutes; that way I wouldn't have had the doughy core (approx 2 1/2 inches). Still, it does taste incredible! You can substitute honey instead of the sugar (same measurements) that way it will have a cleaner, more natural taste. I left the walnuts out - I'm nuts enough! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trevorl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Doaktown, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I like to add three bananas when I make this. I mix in my bread machine,but bake in the oven. I use a cinnamon brown sugar mix swirled in the middle. It is now an "in demand" snack. (You can also add 1/2c. wheat germ for a healthier kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spruce Pine, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Used other recipes but this was the simplest one I have used and LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamagideon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I suggest not making this recipe in a breadmaker. It would be fine to bake it in an oven. Here is what happened to me: 1) the breadmaker didn't completely mix the ingredients. There was a bunch of flour left on the bottom and corners when the bread was done. Also, the stick of margarine wouldn't get mixed--it just floated on the surface as the breadmaker mixed the other ingredients. (I'm aware the instructions say to mix completely before adding to the breadmaker, but if you are going to do that, why not just put it in the oven, too?) 2) the breadmaker sloshed ingredients onto the sides and this burnt. If you stopped the breadmaker before this burnt, the bread wasn't half done. 3) My breadmaker had no setting for cake/bread that doesn't use yeast. All of the settings had a rise stage. This is certainly unnecessary and possibly bad for this recipe. 4) My breadmaker didn't bake this nearly long enough. Most of the middle was completely liquid, so I had to reset the breadmaker at a "bake" setting. The bread thus had burnt stuff on some edges and unmixed stuff on others. The bread tasted great, however. It is just that a breadmaker is the wrong tool to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I love the heavy consistancy of this bread. I put my bread on quick cycle in my Oster Bread machine and just add all the ingrediants. except I use melted butter instead of margerine. If I have thawed frozen bannanas I can just add them in, if they are just over ripe I have to mash them first of the bread machine will not fully do the job. I also dont like nuts so never add them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
made exactly as the recipe said but added vanilla, and it was very nice. Next time I won't mix it before I put it in the machine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanoush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Absolutely the best banana bread!!!! I basically followed the original. I did as others did by adding all the ingredients in the order listed into my Welbilt bread maker. I added a dash of vanilla, but everything else I kept the same. When the maker was done with the quick bread cycle (1hr 43m) I took the pan out of the maker and let the bread stay in it until completely cool. This helped finish cooking the bread. SUPER moist and it even has a bit of glaze on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Sherrod

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Very good recipe, my Breville breadmaker needed an additional 25 minutes to complete the bake cycle. It's not explicit in the manual but the collapsible paddle should be down before starting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States