Banana Nut Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Yummy!!! I followed the recipe ....wait for it....but I had frozen three medium bananas in the peel so I defrosted them in the fridge overnite & I put a cup of chopped pecan instead of walnuts. Can't tell you how good this was oh my it is! Loved, loved, loved it! Also so easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This was the first recipe I tried in my new bread machine. It was absolutely perfect! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Just made this for a chilly football Sunday! I made a few tweaks, I used 3/4 c. sugar w/ 1/4c.brown sugar. I also added a 1/4 cup of oats (oat grains) I mixed vanilla in w/ my bananas and that's it! Put them in the bread machine, mixed for a few minutes then baked. I had to bake my a few minutes longer, because the top of the loaf was still a little wet. This was viola, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I am using Kenwood breadmaker. After the cake cycle is done, the top of the cake is not cook through. Any tips or suggestions from kenwood user on this? Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Fantastic! I didn't have margarine, so had to substitute butter, but otherwise I added a teaspoon of vanilla and some cinnamon and nutmeg (someone gave me a ton and I had to use it up). No problem cooking, came out toothpick perfect each time I made it. I'll be buying extra bananas just to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Absolutely awesome!!! However I did have to substitute some things, due to me not having the proper ingredients on hand (my stupidity - thought I had the proper ingredients). I used water instead of milk; 3 large over-ripe bananas (mashed), instead of 2/3 cup; and used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. When cooking the above, I used the full bread setting (Basic, Bake 3:20). With my machine I should have increased the time by 20 minutes; that way I wouldn't have had the doughy core (approx 2 1/2 inches). Still, it does taste incredible! You can substitute honey instead of the sugar (same measurements) that way it will have a cleaner, more natural taste. I left the walnuts out - I'm nuts enough! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trevorl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Doaktown, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I like to add three bananas when I make this. I mix in my bread machine,but bake in the oven. I use a cinnamon brown sugar mix swirled in the middle. It is now an "in demand" snack. (You can also add 1/2c. wheat germ for a healthier kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spruce Pine, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Used other recipes but this was the simplest one I have used and LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamagideon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I suggest not making this recipe in a breadmaker. It would be fine to bake it in an oven. Here is what happened to me: 1) the breadmaker didn't completely mix the ingredients. There was a bunch of flour left on the bottom and corners when the bread was done. Also, the stick of margarine wouldn't get mixed--it just floated on the surface as the breadmaker mixed the other ingredients. (I'm aware the instructions say to mix completely before adding to the breadmaker, but if you are going to do that, why not just put it in the oven, too?) 2) the breadmaker sloshed ingredients onto the sides and this burnt. If you stopped the breadmaker before this burnt, the bread wasn't half done. 3) My breadmaker had no setting for cake/bread that doesn't use yeast. All of the settings had a rise stage. This is certainly unnecessary and possibly bad for this recipe. 4) My breadmaker didn't bake this nearly long enough. Most of the middle was completely liquid, so I had to reset the breadmaker at a "bake" setting. The bread thus had burnt stuff on some edges and unmixed stuff on others. The bread tasted great, however. It is just that a breadmaker is the wrong tool to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I love the heavy consistancy of this bread. I put my bread on quick cycle in my Oster Bread machine and just add all the ingrediants. except I use melted butter instead of margerine. If I have thawed frozen bannanas I can just add them in, if they are just over ripe I have to mash them first of the bread machine will not fully do the job. I also dont like nuts so never add them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States