Banana Nut Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Just used this recipe for the first time last week, with a few adjustments, but it was delicious! I used a little extra banana, and cut back on some sugar while also using brown sugar; went half and half with shortening and butter. I also added cinnamon and nutmeg! Overall, great outcome! Very moist. Dont overgrease your pans otherwise it will be very wet and sticky on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katelinrivera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I used 1 c. of white and 1 c. of brown sugar. I added 1 tsp. of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg. I substituted butter for the shortening and I increased the flour to 3 1/2 cups. I also added about 1/2 cup of wheat germ. I cooked it for 1 hour 5 minutes. The batter easily fit in two of my silver pans which are smaller than the recommended 9x5's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Great banana bread, but add a pinch of kosher salt to bring out the flavors. Otherwise, fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonroeMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This is the best banana nut recipe ever! I made seven loaves yesterday and gave most of them away so now today I have to make more. I used half brown sugar/half white. And used butter instead of shortening. Other than that I followed recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by afinerosesheis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Modified scones - double the flour. I wanted to make a half-serving, but forgot to half the flour. The dough ends up looking like cookie dough, so I drop cookie-sized dough on a cookie sheet, baked @350F for 9-10 mins. The result: yummy scones! Note: - Be careful - tops won't brown and will look pale. - I followed JANICER8's sugar combo, suggested cinnamon addition, and butter in place of shortening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Very moist and delicious! I had run out of milk, so I substituted heavy cream and butter - very rich indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdelemos

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aveiro, Aveiro, Portugal
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This bread turned out delicious! I guess the buttermilk really made it extra moist.I'll have to keep buttermilk on hand just for this recipe.I did add about a half teaspoon of cinnamon to mine and instead of shortening I used 1/2 cup of oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce.I sprinkled a little brown sugar on the tops before baking.I like to bake all my breads in mini loaf pans and this recipe made five.I gave my mom and uncle each a loaf and they want more!I'm going to experiment and add some strawberries or blueberries next time.I do believe this is my new favorite banana bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Delish! Just the right amount of... well, everything! The banana flavor is great (some breads it just gets washed out) and this is so moist! Fantastic! I'm keeping this recipe for holiday baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WorshipRocker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Living In: Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
this is the best banana nut bread ive ever had!!! love it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Delicious, and so easy to make! a big hit with my whole family, even the ones who usually won't touch anything with nuts in it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States