Banana Nut Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CLPOW
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This smelled so good while cookies in the oven. I took the suggestion from JANICER8 and reduced the sugar by 1/2 cup, used pecans, and 1/2 brown sugar 1/2 white sugar. I used unbleached flour and may need to add more moisture next time to get the same results as the other reviewers. It tasted really good, I hardly want to give away the second loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I used butter. I followed a previous suggestion and pureed 1/4c walnuts mixed with 1/4c brown sugar for a prebake topping. I made muffins (24) so cook time reduced to 20 min. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I ALWAYS follow this recipe MINUS 1/2 cup sugar and my family and coworkers absolutely love it!! Tonight, I substituted yogurt for the buttermilk as I didn't have any and my outer body of my bread was overcooked and I didn't like it as much as I liked how I normally do it. Maybe I will try the milk and lemon substitution but I can't say the yogurt was a "HIT." I have to remember when my bananas are out longer than expected to pick up buttermilk for this recipe! DEF A MUST TRY! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Great Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This was the best banana nut bread I've ever had! I only wanted to make 1 loaf, so I cut the recipe in half. I took the advice of other reviews & cut down on the sugar. Instead of 1 1/4 cup sugar for 1 loaf, I just used 1 cup. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikkee
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was a delicious recipe. I made quite a few changes due to what I had available. It still turned out very moist an tasty. I used self rising flour (only because I was out of all purpose) so I didn't add the baking soda or baking powder. I also don't own a loaf pan so I used a large glass pan and simply lowered my cooking temp to 325 degrees. I used 1c white sugar an 1c brown sugar ( I will likely cut that in half next time). I also used unsalted butter instead of shortening. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made it as presents for my Dad and Aunt. Both of them enjoyed it. I snuck a piece from my dad's stash and I found it was very moist. I would probably use a 1/2 cup more of mashed banana for more banana flavoring. All in all I was excited about the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
love this easy recipe! my bf also likes to heat up his slice with butter before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This was really good! I took the advice from JANICER8 altering the sugar to only 2 cups with 1/2 brown and 1/2 white, 4 bananas, butter instead of shortening, and adding 2 tbs cinnamon. I also used a few tbs of sour cream. Best banana bread i've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Wonderful Recipe!! First time ever making anything from scratch and I couldn't be more thrilled! I accidently misread the recipe and added 2c. of bananas instead of 1 1/2c. This is an awesome, easy recipe!! I will be making this often! I might even continue to use 2c. banana! Two loaves with 4adults and 2teens in my house, the bread didn't last but 2 1/2 days!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Very tasty. Mine is in the freezer now for a big event next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States