Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
Using this for teacher gifts. Was planning on using my favorite recipe from the Fanny Farmer Baking Book for the bread, but noticed that the ingredients were almost identical so I used this one instead. I omitted the cloves (don't like them much) and after reading from another reviewer that the bread had tasted a little too spicy. Cut back a little on the cinnamon too. I also used cooking spray to grease the inside of the jars. After filling half-full I placed the jars directly on the rack (as another person suggested). They came out perfect and the recipe is delicious! If when taking them out of the oven you noticed that they've popped out of the jar a little you can carefully (with gloves of course) press the top of the bread down gently so that the sides are away from the seal. I made sure that the rim was clean and even with them being quite full they all sealed perfectly. Found the pint-size wide mouth jars by where I live for only 5.99 for a dozen at Big Lots. Plan on decorating them with 7" round pieces of material with ribbons and will print out gift tags to attach with a note to heat for less than 30 seconds in the microwave so they will slide right out and be ready for slicing. Will definitely make them again, plan on buying more mason jars and storing them for holiday baking! Hope this review helps...all the others did for me as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
416 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITSLAURAF623

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lindenhurst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I've made these 5 times! Very moist but the real key is to NOT bake them on a baking sheet. Carefully put the jars directly on the oven rack for more even baking. Baking on the sheet causes the middle to be not cooked with the top being too cooked! I got so many compliments from everyone I gave these as a gift to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
329 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
I just made these with 8 ounce Jelly jars and they turned out perfect filling with 1/2 cup of batter. I will put these jars in inexpensive mugs with a packet of hot cocoa mix. wrap with cellophane and ribbon for a cute little gift. Thanks for the recipe and gift idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
Fantastic!! This was my first time making banana bread and it turned out wonderful. My husband, who is a banana bread conniseur, said it was the best he's ever had. I found the jars at Wal-Mart, since I know a few of you were having trouble finding them. I also reduced the cloves from 1 1/2 tsp to 1 tsp. Like another reviewer, I scaled the recipe to make 12 jars. As an experiment, I cooked 6 jars at a time, the first time with a cookie sheet, the second time without. The bread cooked with the cookie sheet turned out just fine, however, the ones cooked without the sheet look more golden brown on the outside (the others were darker). Also, HELPFUL HINT!!, I figured out a super easy way to get the batter into the jars: pour the batter into a heavy gallon freezer bag and cut a small hole in the corner of the bag. This way, you can pipe the batter right into the jars. No mess! Thanks, this recipe is great. Can't wait for gift-giving this year! Next time I'll try pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Very, very impressed with this method. Used the recipe "pumpkin bread" from this website and made two jars as an experiment and two loaves with the batter. In heaven from eating some still warm slides after dinner! It was very easy to pipe batter into the jar with a gallon size bag with a hole cut in the corner. I used 1 cup of batter in each jar and it cooked perfectly up to the top without going over in about 45 minutes. After about 10 minutes being sealed I heard the "ping/pop" noise that it's supposed to make. Haven't tried getting it out of the jars yet, but it doesn't look like it'll be a problem. What a fun idea, thank you! I will definitely make the banana bread and give these out for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
This bread was very good. I will be taking it to a party in a couple of days, but I had to try one for myself, first. One problem that I encountered was that not all of them cooked all the way, due to where they were situated in the oven. Next time I'll make certain to rotate them at the half way point. Aside from that, they were very good and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
You can make this with 2 cups of any fruit that you like. Just be sure not to exceed 2 cups of fruit if you plan to make it in the jars. I have always made it with pumpkin puree. I double the cinnamon when I use pumpkin. I've also used applesauce, but the pumpkin is my favorite. I make this every year for gifts. I originally made it in the jars, but when it got to where I was making 24-36 each year, it was too time consuming. So now I make it in mini-loaf pans and wrap them in colored Saran wrap. Everyone looks forward to receiving them each year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDI!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
I made this recipe and it was FANTASTIC! I got rave reviews by all who tasted it and was asked several times to make more. I greased the insides of the jars with shortening,filled them half way up and they baked right to the top perfectly. The only change I made was that I used cinnamon pecans. The bread slides right out of the jar when cooled. Oh so easy, oh so good. Will be baking more of these again soon. Oh, and I have read about baking in jars. Some places claim you can keep them as long as normal jarred items (like months and years!). This is incorrect. You must eat just as Linda states, within a week. Fun gift and presentation. Thanks for sharing Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOLARA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
The only change I made is I only used 1/4 teaspoon of cloves because I am not a big fan of cloves. Yummy! My husband and I ate a whole jar of bread in one day! This is a WONDERFUL recipe for banana bread! I have made two batches so far to give away as gifts. I cut a 7 inch circle with pinking shears out of a fabric with Christmas designs. I unscrewed the jar ring (after completely sealed and cooled) and laid it on the lid and screwed the ring back on. A ribbon or raffia bow tied around the ring with a gift tag is all it needs to complete the presentation of the gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ripplemead, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
This is a great recipe! Everyone I have given one to has asked for it so they can make them too! For fellow Canadians, I used the 500 ml jars and they worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States