Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
GREAT!! used pumpkin instead of banana. my family is not too keen on them. they kept in the fridge for over six months!! super moist and really fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This is the most wonderful jar-cake recipe I ever tried! Muffins are great for the microwave: 600 watt for 1 1/2 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Awesome recipe. Tried it for the first time. When it says, fill 1/2 jar with batter, DO IT. I filled 3/4 and it was baked over the top of the jars. I poured the bread out, wrapped it, and hand it out to neighbors, and they loved it. Also, placed on racking for baking, the jars tipped to one side. Next time will try putting them on baking sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DzzRed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Wow! I was a little skeptical, but it came out SO good. I made just one jar to try it out, and turned the rest into muffins, but I have to say, the bread in a jar has to be the most moist banana bread I've ever had. DELICIOUS! I'd just say that if you do plan on moving them around in the oven for even baking, PUT THEM ON A BAKING SHEET. THe wire rack wasn't a sturdy enough surface, and I wound up tipping it over twice. But the recipe is perfect just the way it is, I didn't have to make any changes at all. Five stars and two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rceklarc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I have Zucchini bread my mom made in 1988 which has been in her basement 'fruit room' which still looks just fine and which we ate a jar of recently and we are still alive. I will add, eat at your own risk if kept for that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Help! Some sites, and some reviewers here say that the sealed bread can be stored for up to one year. You say one week. Who is right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
It tastes wonderful! Best stuff! I make it and send it to my husband when he's deployed and it comes out just as well 2 weeks later! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is the best I have ever made and tasted, I did read reviews and took their advise. I did not use a cookie sheet when cooking, I do think it cooked more even. I am very impressed with this recipe. The best of all you don't ever have to throw out those bananas any more, these jars store for up to one year as long as they seal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I made this for Christmas gifts for my family. I stuck right to the recipie with one exception. I'm not a huge clove fan so I only put in 1/2 the amount it called for- that made it perfect for me! (I also used walnuts instead of pecans. Next time I will add more nuts as it was a little light on nuts for my taste!) The only major issue I had was finding the right size jar. I went to two craft stores and finally settled on a jar that was a pint and had a small lip. Because of this I had to double the recipe and I still didn't have quite enough batter for all 8 jars. I did a test run with one of the jars and I filled it up a little bit more than halfway at 325 for 55 minutes. It came out perfectly! Some of the other loafs were smaller, but that didn't matter much. Everyone loved them and was so surprised! I added a cute note "Warning: avoid initial urge to break jar. To eat: cut length wise and remove. Enjoy!" I'll definitely try this method again with different kinds of breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrilledCheeseGrad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Changes: added an extra cup of mashed bananas. The condensation that builds up in the jar is very unappealing to look at, not to mention some shrinkage on the bread. Also, I had to more a little more than half of the batter in the jar, for this to rise close to the top. Will continue to use this recipe, but may have to switch to loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States