Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This is a GREAT gift for soldiers overseas. I make all different types of cakes/breads in jars and send them overseas and everytime I hear that they taste as if they were just baked. You can make any type just by filling the jar 1/2 full with whatever batter you want, the only suggestion is not to use fruits or anything that can spoil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
REALLY tasty, moist and delicious! I will be making this again. They make they perfect little gifts for friends, mailmen, neighbors, teachers, whoever. But make sure you keep a few for yourself! I made one batch and used wide mouth canning jars (1 qt.) and the batch fit into four perfectly. Try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthyeater28

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Great recipe! I omited the cloves due to other reviews citing that it was too strong of a flavor. Very moist! I preheated a jelly roll pan in the oven before placing jars on top. They came out perfect per the time table. Flavor while excellent is more of a spice cake. Hubby and I could not detect a apple taste (we sub'd applesauce for the bananas). Going to add these to the food baskets that I made for a few family & friends this year. This would be great with butter (we tried that) or cream cheese! One of the few times my hubby went nuts for something sweet! He never, ever eats sweets but he certainly gave this a thumbs up :) A overall five star rating and certainly would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
These are an amazingly easy treat to share with friends and family and they make a wonderful gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This is a very good bread recipe, and I will definitely make it again. The best way to preserve this bread is in the freezer. When sealed as described, it helps prevent freezer burn, and keeps well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4my4girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This is a great recipe! I used pumpkin for my 1st time. Can't wait to try other fruits & veggies. Planning on freezing the jars for Christmas giving. Very moist & delicious bread!!! I tried with 8oz. jelly jars - baked for 35min. Next is the quart wide mouth jars. I made apple bread the 2nd time around. Just made banana bread in jelly jars - 8oz. Cooked them for 35 min. on a cookie sheet. Turned out fantastic!! Really a neat recipe. Can freeze them for holiday gift giving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
GREAT!! used pumpkin instead of banana. my family is not too keen on them. they kept in the fridge for over six months!! super moist and really fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This is the most wonderful jar-cake recipe I ever tried! Muffins are great for the microwave: 600 watt for 1 1/2 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Awesome recipe. Tried it for the first time. When it says, fill 1/2 jar with batter, DO IT. I filled 3/4 and it was baked over the top of the jars. I poured the bread out, wrapped it, and hand it out to neighbors, and they loved it. Also, placed on racking for baking, the jars tipped to one side. Next time will try putting them on baking sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DzzRed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Wow! I was a little skeptical, but it came out SO good. I made just one jar to try it out, and turned the rest into muffins, but I have to say, the bread in a jar has to be the most moist banana bread I've ever had. DELICIOUS! I'd just say that if you do plan on moving them around in the oven for even baking, PUT THEM ON A BAKING SHEET. THe wire rack wasn't a sturdy enough surface, and I wound up tipping it over twice. But the recipe is perfect just the way it is, I didn't have to make any changes at all. Five stars and two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rceklarc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States