Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This is a great recipe for banana bread. I make similar recipes including zuchinni bread and carrot raisin bread and bake them in jars also. If these seal correctly they actually keep for up to a year in your pantry. We just ate some the other day from Christmas of 2009. It was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Amazing! The addition of the ground cloves really sets this recipe off. Everyone who tried these loved loved loved them. I only had 6 jars left over to make these in, so I made a batch of muffins. I have to say that having them stored in the jars is great. somehow they tasted even better from the jar than they did in muffin form. (I had the same experience with a red velvet that I made in the jars w/ extra made as cupcakes.) Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!! (I followed the instructions exactly, as I usually do on my first attempt. Great job and perfect measurements)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hayesville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I have done this for years but with a different recipe. It is always a hit. My comment is that I don't see the need for refrigeration. If it is sealed properly it will last for 1 year. I left some on purpose for a year and it was fine. Experiment!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
These could not be cuter or easier! I tied a cute ribbon and put them in little holiday bags with tissue. It was a nice change from doing christmas cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Making this for the billionth time tonight. I like to make some without nuts, some with nuts, and for a fun variation, the nephew loves it when I add chocolate chips! Extra thanks to the person who suggested to NOT use a baking sheet and cook directly on the oven wire.... HUGE tip. It doesn't cook evenly on a baking sheet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sass A. Frass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Everyone I gave this to said it was YUMMY... this year I couldn't find any jars in time to make it for Christmas gifts, but I decided I woulld try t just making it in loaf pans (so I could actually taste it myself) and it was still YUMMY... very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Snyder Honeycutt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rougemont, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Excellent! I was hunting for a banana bread recipe, and this was highly rated, so I made it but baked it in loaf pans (made 2 good size loaves). Baked at 350 for 1 hour. It was a hit with the man, and his kids, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Potter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Excellent Banana bread recipe! Thank you! These made wonderful teacher/co-worker gifts this holiday season! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I DID use my own recipe for the second batch, filling just short of half full, as the batter was so fluffy. Worked just fine. I also kept the lids and rings in a shallow pan of water at a simmer, just as I do for canning. When the bread was done, I removed one jar at a time, carefully, wiped the rims and sealed with the hot lids and rings, treating them as I do my other canning. All jars sealed, and the one that didn't make it out as a gift for Christmas is still sealed a month later...The only problem that I can see is that a single jar is a very tiny loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Fiedler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
The ideah is great. I used my own family recipe because other reviews. I baked 2 dozen and tied festive bows around the lids. We gave these to neighbours for Christmas. If you bake these on a cookie sheet, be sure to rotate, as some will brown more than other. Everyone wanted to know where I got the ideah. Thanks for great inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States