Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I made these as Christmas gifts. I considered using my own banana bread recipe baked in a jar but decided to try this. It was very good however, I am not used to the cinnamon and cloves in banana bread. It tasted more like a spice bread because these spices overpowered the banana flavor. This turned out great and was tastey, I just think the title of the recipe is a little misleading. Or, maybe it's just my perception of what banana bread should taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
LOVE this recipe. I bake them and send them to my boyfriend in Afghanistan, and the guys he's shared his with have asked for the recipe to have their wives make and send some. :) Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
So moist and so good ! A perfect gift
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raph_2122

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I sent these to my boyfriend on deployment in the middle east, and he and the guys LOVED them! He said they tasted perfectly fresh when he received them 2 weeks after I put them in the mail! I used 14 8-ounce jars so there was more to go around. The only other change I made was using buter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Vick Wells

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TeresaA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
These are great! Tastes fantastic and such a cute idea...makes a great gift or easy to take when traveling...love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeresaA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loudon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This is a great recipe for banana bread. I make similar recipes including zuchinni bread and carrot raisin bread and bake them in jars also. If these seal correctly they actually keep for up to a year in your pantry. We just ate some the other day from Christmas of 2009. It was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Amazing! The addition of the ground cloves really sets this recipe off. Everyone who tried these loved loved loved them. I only had 6 jars left over to make these in, so I made a batch of muffins. I have to say that having them stored in the jars is great. somehow they tasted even better from the jar than they did in muffin form. (I had the same experience with a red velvet that I made in the jars w/ extra made as cupcakes.) Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!! (I followed the instructions exactly, as I usually do on my first attempt. Great job and perfect measurements)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hayesville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I have done this for years but with a different recipe. It is always a hit. My comment is that I don't see the need for refrigeration. If it is sealed properly it will last for 1 year. I left some on purpose for a year and it was fine. Experiment!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
These could not be cuter or easier! I tied a cute ribbon and put them in little holiday bags with tissue. It was a nice change from doing christmas cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Making this for the billionth time tonight. I like to make some without nuts, some with nuts, and for a fun variation, the nephew loves it when I add chocolate chips! Extra thanks to the person who suggested to NOT use a baking sheet and cook directly on the oven wire.... HUGE tip. It doesn't cook evenly on a baking sheet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sass A. Frass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States