Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
This was delicious and got rave reviews at outreach prayer. The only thing I did differently is to bake it in a loaf pan for about an hour. (I made 2 loaves, one 8x4 and one 9x?) I also followed the advice of one reviewer and sprinkled the pan with cinnamon sugar. Made a delicious loaf of bannana bread. Will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This was just GrEaT!! I honestly was not sure what to expect when I first read the recipe, but after reading all the reviews I had to try it and I was not at all disappointed. The only spice I used was Cinnamon and I forgot the nuts (distracted by the kids). I used a Kerr wide-mouth Mason jar, but I did still have a bit of difficulty getting it out of the jar..I am going to search for the wide-mouth straight side jars and I am sure they will work much better. The bread is so good and moist- my family loved it and I plan to bake dozens of these around the holidays and decorate the jars. EnJoY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I am so impressed with this!! I can't wait to make these for the holidays. Next time, I will only use 1/4 tsp cloves, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, and add another cup of banana. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
FANTASTIC!!!!Kids loved it in bundt cake form or muffin form. Reduced cloves by half and left out nuts for them. Stays moist for days. This is replacing my other recipe for banana cake that I've been using for years. A GREAT FIND.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I was just talking to my friend who is over seas for our country and we were talking about food. He asked me if I ever heard of bread in a jar, No I said. when done talking to him I searched the internet and found this. I was thrilled and now I will be making this for him to send over to him and his crew. I hope they all will enjoy it. And of course I have to keep 1 for me. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I made this over the holidays. It was raw on the inside and did not come out of the jar. I was really disappointed bc I spent a lot of time following the directions and I am not the best cook in the world. Clearly, I had to of made an error bc this recipe has very good reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This recipe is very good and makes a great gift. However, I decided to coat the jars witha sugar and cinnamon mix after greasing. This gives the bread a great coating upon removal. I also increased the bananas to make it have a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
What a novel idea. My picky children loved the bread and giving the bread as a gift in a jar was wonderfully easy, but it looked like I put a lot of effort into it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Cut back on the cloves and added nutmeg. Added a handfull of rasins just 'cause I could. This is a very nice recipe. Maybe I'll replace the water with orange juice next batch to give it extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Yum! I made a 1/2 batch first without the jars to test the recipe and it made one full loaf and two mini loaves. I used butter instead of shortening (or is that the same thing?) and omitted the cloves. Incredibly good! I'm making the jars today to take to work for coworker presents. Thanks, great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States