Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Everyone I gave this to said it was YUMMY... this year I couldn't find any jars in time to make it for Christmas gifts, but I decided I woulld try t just making it in loaf pans (so I could actually taste it myself) and it was still YUMMY... very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Snyder Honeycutt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rougemont, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Excellent! I was hunting for a banana bread recipe, and this was highly rated, so I made it but baked it in loaf pans (made 2 good size loaves). Baked at 350 for 1 hour. It was a hit with the man, and his kids, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen & David

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Excellent Banana bread recipe! Thank you! These made wonderful teacher/co-worker gifts this holiday season! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I DID use my own recipe for the second batch, filling just short of half full, as the batter was so fluffy. Worked just fine. I also kept the lids and rings in a shallow pan of water at a simmer, just as I do for canning. When the bread was done, I removed one jar at a time, carefully, wiped the rims and sealed with the hot lids and rings, treating them as I do my other canning. All jars sealed, and the one that didn't make it out as a gift for Christmas is still sealed a month later...The only problem that I can see is that a single jar is a very tiny loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Fiedler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
The ideah is great. I used my own family recipe because other reviews. I baked 2 dozen and tied festive bows around the lids. We gave these to neighbours for Christmas. If you bake these on a cookie sheet, be sure to rotate, as some will brown more than other. Everyone wanted to know where I got the ideah. Thanks for great inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I was so excited to make this recipe for the in-a-jar baskets my sister and I do for Christmas. I give this 5 stars for the idea but a 2 or 3 for the recipe. We didn't taste banana at ALL. We decided to test one just in case. We kept eating it but it was more like we were trying to get something out of it that wasn't there. I would suggest finding a better banana bread recipe (or whatever you would like. I'm sure you could make all different kinds of bread) and using this recipe as a guideline for the baking technique. As a note, I believe we tripled this recipe and made 12 quart size jars, but had some batter left over. It took about an hour or so to bake that way. They started to look like they were going burn but turned out just fine. It was pretty moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dondie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Coweta, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Excellent right out of the oven but it really doesn't keep well. If you ask me that's a rather silly quality in something you seal in a canning jar. Not practical for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Super easy and delicious!!! gave them away as Christmas gifts and will be making more. I left the nuts out because so many people have allergies and the taste was still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
this recipe is a keeper! very easy! my only suggestion - place the filled jar on the rack in the oven not on a sheet. the air distributes evenly around the jars that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very creative idea! I gave these to my coworkers and friends as Holiday gifts. Be sure to only fill half way, I found out the hard way when I put in the first batch and they overflowed over the top of the jar! I made one change, after I greased the jars I used a 1/4 cup sugar/ 1 teaspoon cinnamon mixture and dusted the inside of the jar before adding the batter. Came out great! Thank you for the creative recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States