Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I love this! I baked the first batch in half pint jars, and for Christmas I am making baskets with this, apple bread, pumpkin bread and fruitcake, all made in the jars. Not using a cookie sheet was a helpful hint, but for the smaller jars, I used a muffin pan to hold the jars since they have a smaller bottom and would be easier to tip in the oven. Even though the jars were smaller, they needed to bake the same amount of time. My gift baskets will have 4 jars of assorted breads, tea, coco and a recipe card giving full credit to Linda Jean and this website. I already use it for so many other things, this is just the BEST yet. It isnot the same old same old gift basket, the jars are reusable (I will put in new lids with the gift basket in case they want to try it) and with a little ribbon and material it looks wonderful all the while staying *green* . Thank you all for the wonderful new things to try and for the honest and helpful reviews that are posted. Merry Christmas if you celebrate it, or Happy holiday for the holiday your family does share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith A Corey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pomaria, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
It is most helpful to use a funnel that is designed for canning in order to not get any batter on the rim of the jar. Then it is not necessary to wipe the rim of the jar when you take the jar out of the oven -- just take it out and put on the lid and ring. Also it it not necessary to refrigerate the jars; they will keep just fine at room temperature as long as they are properly sealed. I have kept some as long as 12 months (just to test) and it was just fine; although I suggest 6 months just to be safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I have a question for you gals that made these for gifts. You have to keep them in the fridge it says? How'd you manage that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I've used this method a bunch of times and I'm very happy with the results. I used my own recipe and due to this approach I end up with a super moist banana bread. I also made a batch for my mom who can't eat a regular loaf by herself. This is the perfect amount for a single person and being able to freeze the jars and use as needed is a wonderful idea. I will try other recipes using this method. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
WOW!!! This is just like my mom use to make when I was little! The best Banana Bread recipe I have found! I did it exactly like the recipe called for. Super Delicious! Will be making this for christmas presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Turned out awesome, great for gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Delicious and fun to make to give as gifts! Everyone loved it! Nice and moist! I increased cinnamon to 1 1/2 tsp and omitted cloves. Baked on a sturdy cookie sheet and it came out beautiful! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I used my own recipe, but followed the directions here. I bought Christmas material and put it over the top and a little below the lid and secured it with a few strings of raffia. It was adorable and I was proud of them. I'll make more next year for sure. I'd like to try a cobbler in a jar sometime too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Great presentation. We did have to make it twice because the first time I accidentally knocked the jars over and made a huge mess! We baked it without the baking sheet as others recommended. We gave it as gifts using the exact recipe here and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made these in coffee cups as gifts. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States