Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
Using this for teacher gifts. Was planning on using my favorite recipe from the Fanny Farmer Baking Book for the bread, but noticed that the ingredients were almost identical so I used this one instead. I omitted the cloves (don't like them much) and after reading from another reviewer that the bread had tasted a little too spicy. Cut back a little on the cinnamon too. I also used cooking spray to grease the inside of the jars. After filling half-full I placed the jars directly on the rack (as another person suggested). They came out perfect and the recipe is delicious! If when taking them out of the oven you noticed that they've popped out of the jar a little you can carefully (with gloves of course) press the top of the bread down gently so that the sides are away from the seal. I made sure that the rim was clean and even with them being quite full they all sealed perfectly. Found the pint-size wide mouth jars by where I live for only 5.99 for a dozen at Big Lots. Plan on decorating them with 7" round pieces of material with ribbons and will print out gift tags to attach with a note to heat for less than 30 seconds in the microwave so they will slide right out and be ready for slicing. Will definitely make them again, plan on buying more mason jars and storing them for holiday baking! Hope this review helps...all the others did for me as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
422 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITSLAURAF623

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lindenhurst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
What an idea! The bread stays moist and when I make them for friends and family, I hear nothing but rave reviews! Depending on where you live, you might want to purchase your Mason Jars during the Spring/Summer, because they are hard to find during the Chritmas Season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
I don't know what went wrong, but my banana bread didn't raise very much at all. 3 of the jars were less than half full after baking and the other jars were only 2/3 full. The banana bread was super moist and flavorfull, but i was expecting a full jar. I may try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
Idea works well with any quick bread. Don't fill the jars to more than the 1 cup measure or your bread will raise too high in the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
What a fun recipe!! My friends were amazed at Christmas and my daughter couldn't stop eating the cake. We substituted pumpkin and loved it. My only caution is to be sure to wipe the jars well around the edges if you have any spills as they will look much prettier and will be easier to seal. I will use a wide mouthed funnel next time. Thanks for a unique gift idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Great gift idea for others! Easy to make. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This was a great change from cookies in a jar. The bread really stayed moist. I'd adjust the spices, though, as the banana taste had a hard time coming through-tasted more like spice bread. For my second batch, I subbed pumpkin for the banana, used my favorite spices and it was even better than the banana bread. This made a great gift but it's also nice to keep some and have fresh bread in a couple weeks with no work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Perfect! Was skeptical about cooking in jars, turned out great! Made in Nov., tried at Christmas, as soon as you pop the top, the aroma of fresh baked bread fills the room. Moist and delicious! Will definitely add to recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
I baked this recipe for coworkers and it was a smash. Zer gut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by copetenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
This is excellent! I followed the directions exactly and it turned out perfectly. I will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States