Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
I don't know what went wrong, but my banana bread didn't raise very much at all. 3 of the jars were less than half full after baking and the other jars were only 2/3 full. The banana bread was super moist and flavorfull, but i was expecting a full jar. I may try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
Idea works well with any quick bread. Don't fill the jars to more than the 1 cup measure or your bread will raise too high in the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
What a fun recipe!! My friends were amazed at Christmas and my daughter couldn't stop eating the cake. We substituted pumpkin and loved it. My only caution is to be sure to wipe the jars well around the edges if you have any spills as they will look much prettier and will be easier to seal. I will use a wide mouthed funnel next time. Thanks for a unique gift idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Great gift idea for others! Easy to make. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This was a great change from cookies in a jar. The bread really stayed moist. I'd adjust the spices, though, as the banana taste had a hard time coming through-tasted more like spice bread. For my second batch, I subbed pumpkin for the banana, used my favorite spices and it was even better than the banana bread. This made a great gift but it's also nice to keep some and have fresh bread in a couple weeks with no work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Perfect! Was skeptical about cooking in jars, turned out great! Made in Nov., tried at Christmas, as soon as you pop the top, the aroma of fresh baked bread fills the room. Moist and delicious! Will definitely add to recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
I baked this recipe for coworkers and it was a smash. Zer gut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by copetenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
This is excellent! I followed the directions exactly and it turned out perfectly. I will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I've made these 5 times! Very moist but the real key is to NOT bake them on a baking sheet. Carefully put the jars directly on the oven rack for more even baking. Baking on the sheet causes the middle to be not cooked with the top being too cooked! I got so many compliments from everyone I gave these as a gift to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
333 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
My friends were very impressed with this fantastic recipe! I only wish I had paid attention to the fact that it said to use STRAIGHT SIDED JARS...Will use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States