Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
Fantastic!! This was my first time making banana bread and it turned out wonderful. My husband, who is a banana bread conniseur, said it was the best he's ever had. I found the jars at Wal-Mart, since I know a few of you were having trouble finding them. I also reduced the cloves from 1 1/2 tsp to 1 tsp. Like another reviewer, I scaled the recipe to make 12 jars. As an experiment, I cooked 6 jars at a time, the first time with a cookie sheet, the second time without. The bread cooked with the cookie sheet turned out just fine, however, the ones cooked without the sheet look more golden brown on the outside (the others were darker). Also, HELPFUL HINT!!, I figured out a super easy way to get the batter into the jars: pour the batter into a heavy gallon freezer bag and cut a small hole in the corner of the bag. This way, you can pipe the batter right into the jars. No mess! Thanks, this recipe is great. Can't wait for gift-giving this year! Next time I'll try pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
YUMMY! Great for camping trips! I’ve stored sealed jars for an entire year and the bread was still very much edible, however a bit "clovey". Next time I decide to store for more than six weeks, I'll use 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
Its so moist! A great way to give a nice gift
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
Question: Where does everyone get the canning jars? I can't locate the pint size ones. I can't wait to try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
Easy and everyone loves getting these as gifts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
Using this for teacher gifts. Was planning on using my favorite recipe from the Fanny Farmer Baking Book for the bread, but noticed that the ingredients were almost identical so I used this one instead. I omitted the cloves (don't like them much) and after reading from another reviewer that the bread had tasted a little too spicy. Cut back a little on the cinnamon too. I also used cooking spray to grease the inside of the jars. After filling half-full I placed the jars directly on the rack (as another person suggested). They came out perfect and the recipe is delicious! If when taking them out of the oven you noticed that they've popped out of the jar a little you can carefully (with gloves of course) press the top of the bread down gently so that the sides are away from the seal. I made sure that the rim was clean and even with them being quite full they all sealed perfectly. Found the pint-size wide mouth jars by where I live for only 5.99 for a dozen at Big Lots. Plan on decorating them with 7" round pieces of material with ribbons and will print out gift tags to attach with a note to heat for less than 30 seconds in the microwave so they will slide right out and be ready for slicing. Will definitely make them again, plan on buying more mason jars and storing them for holiday baking! Hope this review helps...all the others did for me as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
415 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITSLAURAF623

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lindenhurst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
What an idea! The bread stays moist and when I make them for friends and family, I hear nothing but rave reviews! Depending on where you live, you might want to purchase your Mason Jars during the Spring/Summer, because they are hard to find during the Chritmas Season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
I don't know what went wrong, but my banana bread didn't raise very much at all. 3 of the jars were less than half full after baking and the other jars were only 2/3 full. The banana bread was super moist and flavorfull, but i was expecting a full jar. I may try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
Idea works well with any quick bread. Don't fill the jars to more than the 1 cup measure or your bread will raise too high in the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
What a fun recipe!! My friends were amazed at Christmas and my daughter couldn't stop eating the cake. We substituted pumpkin and loved it. My only caution is to be sure to wipe the jars well around the edges if you have any spills as they will look much prettier and will be easier to seal. I will use a wide mouthed funnel next time. Thanks for a unique gift idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States