Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This was really good and easy! Very moist. I gave these out as presents during Christmas and everyone loved them. Very unique idea, I will try different breads next time, great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This recipe is fantastic. I was searching for jar recipes to give out and found this site. I have never made a better banana nut bread recipe and this will now go into my recipe file !!! I forgot to grease 2 of the jars and they still came out of the jars without sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would!!! Awesome ! Follow it to a "T" ! I put the jars on a cookie sheet, added a loaf pan half full of water under the cookie sheet ! Perfecto! The steam was coming out of the jar when I sampled it! Delicious! Linda Jean , Thanks Girl!! In going to try it with Strawberries next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelliegirl21

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe,turned out good,I always made my bread for holidays in a can,so this is a good change. But one question, how long well it last in the jar,or can I freeze it in the jar. I need to make a lot.thank you for the ideal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Very, very impressed with this method. Used the recipe "pumpkin bread" from this website and made two jars as an experiment and two loaves with the batter. In heaven from eating some still warm slides after dinner! It was very easy to pipe batter into the jar with a gallon size bag with a hole cut in the corner. I used 1 cup of batter in each jar and it cooked perfectly up to the top without going over in about 45 minutes. After about 10 minutes being sealed I heard the "ping/pop" noise that it's supposed to make. Haven't tried getting it out of the jars yet, but it doesn't look like it'll be a problem. What a fun idea, thank you! I will definitely make the banana bread and give these out for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
Thanks for the great gift idea. These turned out great and made wonderful presents. Also, the house smelled wonderful when they were baking. They are easy to make and people were impressed with the gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
Great recipe! I had some problems getting the batter in the jars, even using the baggie with a corner cut-out method. But, my husband helped getting the batter in. I gave these as Christmas gifts to the neighbors. They couldn't figure out how I got the bread in the jar. I will definitely do this again. I might try a different bread recipe just for diversity next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Tulley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
I made this recipe and it was FANTASTIC! I got rave reviews by all who tasted it and was asked several times to make more. I greased the insides of the jars with shortening,filled them half way up and they baked right to the top perfectly. The only change I made was that I used cinnamon pecans. The bread slides right out of the jar when cooled. Oh so easy, oh so good. Will be baking more of these again soon. Oh, and I have read about baking in jars. Some places claim you can keep them as long as normal jarred items (like months and years!). This is incorrect. You must eat just as Linda states, within a week. Fun gift and presentation. Thanks for sharing Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOLARA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
This turned out great. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
This is an awesome recipe. I love how original it is! I didn't use cloves in my banana bread because I'm not too fond of them, and the cinnamon still adds nice flavor alone. You could try nutmeg too. I didn't add nuts because I was giving these out as Christmas gifts to neighbors. Everyone seems very impressed, and I like the fact that I don't have to stress out about baking during the week of Christmas! I can bake everything ahead of time and it will still taste just as fresh as the day I baked it! Thanks for the recipe! I'm trying pumpkin next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehi, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States