Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Cut back on the cloves and added nutmeg. Added a handfull of rasins just 'cause I could. This is a very nice recipe. Maybe I'll replace the water with orange juice next batch to give it extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Yum! I made a 1/2 batch first without the jars to test the recipe and it made one full loaf and two mini loaves. I used butter instead of shortening (or is that the same thing?) and omitted the cloves. Incredibly good! I'm making the jars today to take to work for coworker presents. Thanks, great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Awesome recipe... for those looking for jars, I found mine at Ace Hardware! I also stapled together a cardboard "funnel" and lined it with wax paper. It worked great for keeping the tops of the jars clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Awesome, family and friends love this gift idea! It's personal and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Oh, yes, definitely add nutmeg too! For winter holidays, a handful of chopped dried apricots (not pre-softened) made a neat seasonal variety with the bananas. And, I loved measuring half orange (or apple?) juice/half water. To those asking where to find jars: look at neighborhood garage sales, a bazaar or a "Dollar" store. However, sterilize those jars and use only new tops and rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Loved this recipe. I made the bread in 5 mini jars, a loaf, and 4 muffin tins. They were delish!! Will make again for Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Absolutely fantastic! This is the a very moist bread that really does come out very easily. I hot glued ribbons on the rings and used this as gifts for my son's teachers and they were very impressed. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
This is such a good bread...you must try! Thank YOu for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Williams Tucker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHIRSTEN924
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This was so moist and delicious! They came out of the jar so easy also! I froze some of the extras right in the jar and they held up for a while!!! Ohh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Great recipe and fun to make. These are great for gift baskets and bake sales. I decorated the jars with fabric & ribbons and added a note to each jar with storage and heating instructions. I also made these with pumpkin instead of banana and thye turned out just as yummy. Some tips: Use a _VERY_ large mixing bowl, this makes a lot of batter. Be sure the jars are the wide-mouth, straight-sided kind or you'll have a hard time getting the bread in & out of the jars. Will use this recipe forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States