Banana Muffins with a Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
MMMMMMMM!!! These muffins are very moist and delicious just as they are!!!! Enjoy!!!! And thanks HARAJUKUWA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
this is one of my favorite barefoot contessa recipes. the only thing you should edit is part 2 in the directions: the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt should be sifted before mixed. the melted butter should then be added and blended. and lastly, the eggs, milk, vanilla, and mashed bananas should be combined...then added to the flour/butter mixture. these changes will make quite a differnce in the outcome of these muffins...they are fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This is a little too sweet for my liking, but everyone loves them! I might use less sugar next time because the bananas are sooo sweet. I used 1/2 unbleached flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour, skim milk, Bear Naked Banana Nut granola (naturally sweetened, purchased at Costco, but usually available at natural food stores), unsweetened coconut, and I picked banana chips out of the granola as toppers. They are plenty moist, but didn't rise very much, so I would fill your tin to the top, I only filled 2/3 full. I will probably make this again, though it doesn't seem any better than my regular banana nut muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
These are delicious. Made just as outlined and they turned out beautifully each time. This is a large recipie. Makes 18-24.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
ABSOLUTELY the best! Everyone loved these muffins in my home, even my husband who doesn't have a sweet tooth whatsoever! They were a huge hit. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
These are wonderful muffins! I used some whole wheat flour (about 1/3 whole wheat and 2/3 white), which gave them a heartier texture. I also used half brown sugar and half white--I might cut down on the sugar next time, as these were very sweet, but then again, maybe not--they were very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
These were awesome! I varied from the original recipe only slightly. I used 1/3 whole wheat flour and 2/3 unbleached all purpose. I also cut the sugar by 1/4. Finally, I used chopped pecans instead of walnuts. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Gardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuttle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Wow....what a great recipe. I made some modifications as others suggested: I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 2 cups of white flour; used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar; substituted buttermilk for the milk. I also decided to add 1/4 cup wheat germ. Be certain though to properly combine the ingredients as mentioned in a previous review - dry ingredients mixed first, melted butter added to the dry ingredients. Combine the eggs, milk, and vanilla and add next. Finally, fold in mashed bananas, chopped bananas, granola, nuts, coconut, and wheat germ. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grvqn
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
The muffins were really good! Easy to make too! I used soy milk instead of milk. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grvqn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by rocks
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I didn't have a problem with them being too sweet, but I substituted Splenda for the sugar so that might be why. The muffins were good, but if I make these again, I'll put an extra banana in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States