Banana Muffins with a Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
These were super awesome, and I made all the changes suggested by other reviewers to make them healthier. I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour, 2 of all purpose, I used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown. I only used 1/2 cup of melted butter, and 1/2 cup applesauce. I mixed dry ing, then added butter, then wet, then at the end I added the coconut, finely chopped pecans :) and some finely shredded carrot and a smidge of mini chocolate chips.. they were awesome, and on the healthy side for my 2 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
They were really good. I used 1 C whole wheat flour, 1/2 C almond flour, and 1 1/2 all-purpose flour. I also cut the sugar to 1 C and it came out great. The granola I used did not come out chewy, it was small chunks of granola and that might have made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESSELMJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Very yummy!! I added blueberries, left out banana chips and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkulinku

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Very tasty! I didn't have any granola so I substituted some Ghirardelli chocolate chips. Net time I'll had add a teaspoon of cinnamon to the batter, it goes well with chocolate. I also added an extra small banana because when I was pulling the banana off, that one broke open. This recipe made way more than 24, though, it actually made 36 regular sized muffins. And I didn't know I was out of muffin paper so I just sprayed the muffin tin with baking PAM and they came out perfectly. Since it made so many I plan on freezing half of them and keeping the others in an airtight container to have the the news few days. Oh, and one more thing. The batter is SOOOO good! YUM! And this coming from someone who is not a batter/cookie dough eating kind of girl, either. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4Countries

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
These are really nice muffins! One important word of advice, though: cut down the sugar!!! I halved the sugar and they were still super sweet. Next time I will add even less. The granola adds sweetness, the banana adds sweetness and the coconut adds sweetness... so, really, you don't need 2 cups of sugar! Otherwise, I followed to a T, except for using 3/4 cup olive oil in place of the 1 cup butter. I sprinkled granola over the tops of the muffins before baking, which made them look really appetizing and pretty. Will make again, with less sugar. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
They tasted good but they were really crumbly and my boyfriend didnt like the granola. he thought it was "chewy nuts"... lol. i used soymilk instead of regular milk, almonds instead of walnuts, and for the granola i used kashi golean crunch cereal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
VERY good! I used up the last of my walnuts and pecans. Added chocolate chips instead of granola. I didn't make banana chips. But I used 3 mashed bananas. Another great way to use up over ripened bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
4 stars because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I used 1/2 AP flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour. 1/2c. sugar and 1/2c. brown sugar, 3 mashed bananas, and cinnamon. I also substituted oatmeal for the granola because I didn't have any. Very, very good! Moist and very flavorful! Definitely making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Etna Green, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I just needed to use some bananas, so I tried this recipe. My husband is the banana eater in the family, and he thought these were great. ONLY THING: It is better to be cautious than overambitious with this batter. When filling the cups, aim for somewhere between half full and three-quarters full. These puppies rise! Also, old fashioned oats are fine as a replacement for granola, and it's best to follow the advice of another reviewer when mixing the ingredients. She knows what she's talking about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
omg this is soooo good..the first pan didn't make it to the table,we ate them as soon as they came out of the oven..in my opinion this is the best banana muffin recipe ever! my family and says thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States