Banana Muffins with a Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
These were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I've been wanting to try this recipe for quite a while, but have never found myself with the right ingredients on hand. I finally did and made them, with a few changes. I made them healthier by replacing half the flour with whole wheat flour and half the butter with organic canola oil. I reduced the sugar by 1/2 cup and added 1 tsp. ground cinnamon. I love the crunchiness of the banana chips on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I didn't add the walnuts as I didn't have any, or the dried bananas on top - I did add vanilla pudding as that tends to keep my muffins moist. GREAT recipe thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is a moist great tasting recipe. I also used the basic recipe to make a variety of muffins. Thanks for sharing. Elaine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
These turned out great! I followed the recipe pretty closely but made a few adjustments used in another review and sifted all the dry ingredients first. I also Used pecans instead of walnuts as what I thought were walnuts in the freezer were pecans! Also in place of granola I used oats. These were fantastic! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Delicious recipe. Followed recipe to a T and added granola trail mix with cranberries. Loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I love this recipe! I love it even more when I make a recipe for the first time and it turns out delicious! The only substitution I made was using pastry flour instead of all purpose flour. They seemed to be more tender or softer than other muffins I've made in the past, as this was my first time using pastry flour. I think I may use it for muffins from now on. Now if I could only get my muffins to rise when baking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Washington, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Very good I only changed the sugar to 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. Also added some raisins. The banana chips on the top really set them off. I used the large muffins pans and made 12 cook them 28 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
As written, this is a very good recipe. Next time, though, I will omit the granola and coconut and just make it a banana muffin. I used sour cream in place of the milk with terrific results. I think this muffin recipe would be very adaptable...think blueberry & lemon, orange & chocolate, raspberry & white chocolate, cherry & almond, peaches and cream cheese, apple & carrot, pineapple & mango...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
A 5 stars plus! Moist, full bodied, very filling and banana-y. Barefoot Contessa is also one of my favorite cooking shows and I watched this episode where she made this and I couldn't wait to bake these muffins. What I did do slightly different is use 3 cups whole wheat flour, buttermilk instead of milk and I used 1 tsp vanilla extract and 1 tsp of banana extract. After I filled my muffin cups almost 2/3 ways, (they do rise up a little)I gently inserted a couple of banana chips into the muffin tops, breaking some, and sprinkling all over the top as well. These baked exactly 25 minutes at 350 degrees. I did end up with 36 muffins. My house smelled of bananas...MMmm. I think the buttermilk really helped as these muffins were just so moist, and there is a nice wonderful crunch factor from all of the quaker oats granolas, banana chips and walnuts. I can taste a little of the sweetened coconut flakes (nice!). Overall an easy recipe to put together with wonderful results! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States