Banana Muffins with a Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Great muffins! I used half veggie oil and half applesauce to replace the butter. Omitted the granola and walnuts. I added shredded coconut to half of the recipe so I could see which tasted better, with or without. Coconut definitely adds a nice texture to the muffin. Thanks HARAJUKUWA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
These are very moist and delicious muffins! I made few minor alterations to accomodate the ingredients I had. I used an extra banana (mashed half and chopped half), I used quick oats instead of granola, sweetened coconut so I cut out half a cup of sugar, and only about 1/4 cup of walnuts. My husband and his coworkers couldn't believe there was coconut in these muffins! They loved the muffins despite their distaste for coconut! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Oh my goodness these are just so delicious. Pretty sure this is the recipe I will be using again and again. I followed the recipe exactly, but no changes at all and baked for 20 minutes. They came out perfect, the muffin is so moist and flavourful in every bite. Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
These were more tasty without the banana chips added on top. Very moist and fluffy. I expected they would be heavy so the fluffiness was a surprise. While there is lots of good for you stuff in them they are really high in calories and fat. I will make this again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOUNDMYZEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Real good, did as others suggested, exchanged a cup of white flour for wheat, only 1amd a half cubes of butter, added 1/4c wheat germ, 3/4 c brown sugar and 1/4c white sugar. Lessond baking time by 5 minutes for my oven. Dry first, then butter then wet then fold in the rest. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Wonderful recipe! A real crowd pleaser! My only suggestion is to follow the suggestion from MADISONRAE on Jun. 29, 2005. This makes a world of difference! I always leave out the nuts and omit the banana chips and they turn out perfect every time with a great texture on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This is NOT healthy but it is so fabulous. Add flavored granola for more fun but leave out the banana chips and don't use as much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Family Recipe Box

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape May, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and found that these were some of the most flavorful muffins that I have ever made! I opted not to put the banana chips on top and left the top plain. The inside was moist and cake-like, and I have found my definitive banana muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten Parris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I changed 3 things. No walnuts because family does not like nuts, and no banana chips because I did not have them. Added a few Guittard milk chocolate chips to each muffin by pushing them in the batter. These were yummy but definitely a dessert item. I like the basic batter though. The melted butter instead of typical vegetable oil makes a lighter tastier muffin. Next time I will try some suggested healthy variations to make it more of a breakfast on the run item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Simons
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
These are the best banana muffins I have ever tasted. I made mine with 3 Oats & Hunny granola bars (used food processor) ground up. I even added some granola on the very top of the muffin mixture and then baked them. Thank you for an amazing recipe!! I added a picture too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Simons

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 51-60 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States