Banana Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tahoegirl
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe! I modified it a bit to make it a tad healthier. I used 1/4c white flour, 1/2c whole wheat flour, 1/4c wheat bran, 1/2 scoop of vanilla flavored whey protein powder, 1 tablespoon baking powder, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/4 tsp salt, 3 mashed bananas, 1/4c splenda for baking, 1/4c nonfat vanilla yogurt, 1/4c egg substitute, 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp cinnamon. Nutrition info per muffin: 82 calories, 0.5g fat, 18 carbs, 2g fiber and 3g protein. Once cooled I sealed them in a plastic bag overnight, and I had no trouble peeling them from the muffin liners. Very moist and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
The kids are home sick. Perfect for today. I didn't have sour cream so I used nonfat vanilla yogurt. I beat the bananas, eggs, yogurt and vanilla well and then added the mixed together dry ingredients. I also added walnuts. Very nice light, fluffy texture. The kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
These were great. It's important to let them cool off completely before serving (they refrigerate very well). I made a batch using plain, nonfat yogurt instead of sour cream and it worked fabulously. When the muffins were gone, I used this recipe for banana bread, replacing the all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour. It works, you just have to let it bake a little longer to get done in the middle. I also found that these are great with even less sugar (thought they don't have much to begin with), the ripe bananas do plenty of sweetening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
My best advice about this recipe is to bake it just before you go to bed at night. That way you can leave them to cool overnight and when you get up in the morning, you can stick them into the freezer (before tasting them) so you can have some left for tomorrow. Just keep 2 or 3 out or as many out as you need for breakfast or brunch. That is unless you need them all that day for some occasion or just to be immediately eaten, because they will be if there's anyone around to sample or taste them. They baked up beautifully - very light and fluffy but needed to cook a little longer than 20 mins to come out of the papers easily. I baked these for a study group next week but I know I'm going to have trouble having some left by then, even though they're in the freezer. What I like most about this recipe is that it uses only 1/2 cup of sugar. We all know that bananas have the highest sugar content of any fruit and therefore don't need 3/4 or 1 1/2 cups of sugar with them. They are deliciously and perfectly sweet with this small amount of sugar. I toyed with adding some spices (just because I like spiced bananas) but decided to do it as written first to see how they taste normally. They are quite scrumptious as is and I'm really thankful that I found this recipe. It's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I didn't have enough banana, so I added applesauce. My other alterations were pretty standard: cinnamon, and vanilla yogurt for the sour cream. To the reviewer who used 1/4C extra banana rather than sour cream, and got poor results: baking soda requires an acidic ingredient to cause it to act. By removing the sour cream and replacing it with fruit, you removed that acidic ingredient, and the baking soda remained inactive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 2Yung2Cook
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
OMG i LOVE these!!!!!! soooo yummy and tender!!!! i used 2 medium ripe bananas, half whole wheat flour and half white flour, replaced the sour cream with fat free vanilla yogurt, and had to use almond extract instead of vanilla. Other than that, everything was kept the same.....cooked in about 22 minutes.....i really beat together the egg and banana mixture, so i think that helped make the muffins so spongey....mmmmm!!!! Just the right amount of sweetness, o-so-low in fat, and just straight up scrumptious!!!!! Made exactly 12. seriously- try this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Considering that I neglected to add the baking powder and they still rose twice the size with just the half tsp of baking soda I was pretty impressed. They were neither too moist or heavy or dry. I did add a couple tablespoons of oil, to compensate for the small banana I used and I did add nutmeg, cinnamon and extra vanilla for extra flavour. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
Thumbs up for this super easy recipe. I found these to be very moist & light. The banana flavor is mellow not bland...makes me think of a banana pancake. Going by the reviews & personal preferece, I made a few minor changes: Instead of 1 cup ap flour I used 1/2 cup all purpose & 1/2 cup whole wheat. I also changed the 1/4 cup sugar to a mix of sugar/Splenda. I used 3 ripe bananas (what I had on hand) instead of measuring out the one cup & added a dash of cinnamon & Splenda to the top of each muffin before baking. 20 minutes worked perfect in my oven. Yum! Don't let the scant 1 cup of flour fool you - you will get 12 regular sized muffins or 6-8 generously large muffins out of this small amount of batter. I didn't taste any of the bitterness or have any problems with dryness. Perhaps the extra bit of banana made a difference? I don't know for certain but when I made my second batch I stuck with my changes & they came out great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Excellent muffins! Love everything about them from the fluffy texture to the guilt-free great taste. I used fat-free yogurt in place of sour cream with no problems as well. Also added about 1/8 teaspoon each of cinnamon and nutmeg for a boost in flavor. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
One of the best banana muffin recipes. It's simple and tastes great, and best of all is low in fat and sugar. I made some for my kids and they loved them! I didn't have the heart to tell them the muffins were actually good for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States