Banana Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I am super impressed with these muffins! I made them one night simply because I had two large overly ripe bananas, and most recipes seem to call for three bananas. I just wanted to get rid of my mushy produce, and expected some adequate muffins... But now I have to say, I think this is my FAVORITE banana muffin recipe on Allrecipes (and I've tried a few!). I just love that it's not obscenely sweet, and I think the sour cream makes them taste extremely moist (I used light sour cream)... no oil or butter needed! For my second batch, I threw in a handful of Ghiradelli semisweet chips... DECADENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
so good will make these over and over i couldnt stop eating them...thanks for the recipe these are delish!!...made them exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillasmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I used only 1 tsp of baking powder and fat-free yogurt instead of sour cream. I mixed the baking soda with the yogurt first, then stirred in the rest of the ingredients, wet first, then dry. Turned out nicely although they were a little less "structured" than a regular muffin would be. I will make these again and attempt a sugar-free version with Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenfire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
What an excellent, guilt free way to use ripe bananas! No alterations needed, but if I made some it would be to add baking soda to the sour cream, then fold into the bananas/sugar/egg, then lightly stir in dry ingredients. This makes for a very light and airy muffin. You could also add 1/4 cup mini chocolate chips. As others have stated, plain yogurt can be used in place of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
very good recipe I just added cinnamon & nutmeg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Added some mini chocolate chips, yummy. I think the sour cream adds to these muffins being super moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Made a double batch with no change except adding 1 t cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg. They were so good you don't miss the fat at all. Will make again and again experimenting with adding raisins, chocolate chips, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
would add nutmeg and cinnamon next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
My husband enjoyed them but admitted he could tell they were low fat. I could hardly tell. My only complaint: they are too small!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
These muffins are delicious and moist. My 6 year-old loved them. I used 1 cup + 2 tbs of cake flour instead of the AP flour. I eliminated the salt and baking powder and used only 1/4 tsp of baking soda. I added a tbs of brown sugar, and used 1 full tsp vanilla. I used reduced fat sour cream. Delish!!!! I will make this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States