Banana Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I am surprised by the number of people who loved this recipe, and have to agree with those who said they found it to have too much baking powder. I did not like the 'spongy' texture. It only made 9 muffins, and they did not have the high rounded tops that my usual muffins have. Sorry, but I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I made these as directed after reading the first 15 reviews which were positive. Had I read further I would've seen the reviews which were older regarding the quantity of baking powder. As I learned, the 1 T. called for is WAY TOO MUCH. It left a very bitter taste, and I ended up having to throw away the muffins because after one bite my family would not eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Amazing! I replaced the sour cream by plain yogurt and I added pieces of apple on top of the muffins, they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
These were pretty good! I used vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream and I didn't put the walnuts in. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suziq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
MMMmmmm these were good. Only thing i did different was uses lit n fit dannon yogurt(vanilla)since i had a whole ton of it. excellent muffins and weren't flat like some reviews said them to be. oh but word of advise; don't reheat in microwave they become slightly weird or maybe that was because i used yogurt...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Wonderfully low calorie and decadent! I did make some changes. I substituted the all purpose flour for 1/2 cup whole wheat and 1/2 cup bran. I used buttermilk instead of sour cream. And 1/4 cup brown sugar instead of white which gave these muffins a nice caramel color and taste. Instead of 12 muffins I made 6, the nutrition stats for my muffins were 122 calories, 4.3 grams fiber, and less than 3 grams fat. Looved it!! Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Wonderful recipe!! So easy!! They were moist and fluffy, and tasted great! I added chocolate chips to a few and they were so GREAT! Will make again and again! Thank you for this easy tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckybailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
These were really good! I made the recipe exactly as written (but with fat free sour cream instead of plain), and they turned out very tasty. Perfect amounts, perfect temperature, even perfect baking time. My husband made a face when he saw me preparing them, "You're putting sour cream in the banana bread?," but when he tasted them he was very pleased. I'm always trying different banana bread/muffin recipes (some are too sweet or are too unhealthy written as-is), and this one is a keeper. They would also be good with a little cinnamon and/or nutmeg added, but it's not a requirement. Thanks, Tahoegirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
yummy recipe! very moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
These muffins are SO good. I can't even describe the taste... the texture... oh, they're wonderful. Every time we have bananas my family begs me to make them. I've learned they're even better when throwing in a handful of chocolate chips at the end of mixing. Yummy! 5 stars all the way; I'm keeping this recipe forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States