Banana Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Hey, this isn't so weird if you have ever eaten the food of Puerto Rico! They make a wonderful dish with ripe plantains (like a bananna but not quite as strong-flavored) and ground meat with olives and sofrito (a mixture of onion, garlic sweet peppers, olive oil and tomatoes plus culantro) and either roll it up like pinwheels or layer it like a lasagna. The sweet and the savory are really very good together. I'll bet this rather tastes like that and I am going to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
The banana flavor does NOT go with hamburger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
A great alternative to regular meatloaf! The bananas don't overpower, and the mustard imparts a great flavor. This also cooks up very moist. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This is NOT regular old, plain American meatloaf. This is carribean/cuban influenced. Like one of the other reviews said, you may want to substitute plantains for the bananas for a more subtle flavor. I thought this was great! Updated 7/6/10: Seven years and three children later this is still one of my favorite recipes, and my kids love it too! I always brush the outside with Pickapeppa sauce - it makes a nice glaze with a hint of spicy to complement the subtle sweetness of the banana. I've also made a pineapple or mango salsa to seve along side of it, but even grilled pineapple slices work great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. Clarke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
Quite interesting. Really moist and definitely different which is what you really need in a meatloaf. Banana taste might not appeal to all but the title may give them a clue to stay away from this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
This was an outstanding recipe, the banana put the right amount of moisture and sweetness into the meatloaf. I used a banana that was turning brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
Great idea! The naysayers have never had Carib food. Grew up in Jamaica, so I thought this was great! I served it with a little papaya chutney on the side. Update: I made this again tonight and omited the seasoning, and added allspice, a bit of thyme, a couple of shakes of Pickapeppa, and topped it with sweet catsup. Oh, and used turkey meat. Hubby liked it better this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
This was pretty good! I'm impressed! I thought it was a little weird, so I figured I'd give it a try. Because I didn't have any bananas, I used a pretty ripe plantain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
a sweet not savory version of this would be good, such as a banana bread pudding stle dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacob & Adrian's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crockett, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
A very interesting alternative to regular Meatloaf! Sometimes we see bananas as simple dessert fare but many cultures use bananas or plantains in their day-to-day meal preparations.I found the bananas lended themselves well with the mustard and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States