Banana Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
I thought the banana would serve to make the meatloaf moist, but the flavor was also quite evident. Unless you're looking for a meatloaf that actually tastes banana-y, stay away from this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
Horrible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
Quite interesting. Really moist and definitely different which is what you really need in a meatloaf. Banana taste might not appeal to all but the title may give them a clue to stay away from this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
The banana flavor does NOT go with hamburger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
Hated it. Bananas and ground beef don't go together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
Extremely horrible! I thought the banana would just moisten it, but noone in my house ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
A great alternative to regular meatloaf! The bananas don't overpower, and the mustard imparts a great flavor. This also cooks up very moist. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Hey, this isn't so weird if you have ever eaten the food of Puerto Rico! They make a wonderful dish with ripe plantains (like a bananna but not quite as strong-flavored) and ground meat with olives and sofrito (a mixture of onion, garlic sweet peppers, olive oil and tomatoes plus culantro) and either roll it up like pinwheels or layer it like a lasagna. The sweet and the savory are really very good together. I'll bet this rather tastes like that and I am going to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This is NOT regular old, plain American meatloaf. This is carribean/cuban influenced. Like one of the other reviews said, you may want to substitute plantains for the bananas for a more subtle flavor. I thought this was great! Updated 7/6/10: Seven years and three children later this is still one of my favorite recipes, and my kids love it too! I always brush the outside with Pickapeppa sauce - it makes a nice glaze with a hint of spicy to complement the subtle sweetness of the banana. I've also made a pineapple or mango salsa to seve along side of it, but even grilled pineapple slices work great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. Clarke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Maine, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I don't understand why people are so amazed about banana and beef combination. You have to try before telling judging. This meatloaf has a very lightly sweet touch, but the texture is not my favourite kind: I rather like meatloaves made out of oats than bread crumbs. I will try it again my way, with oats instead of bread and with a little more banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States