Banana Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Must be one of those flavor combos that a person either really likes or really dislikes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I thoroughly enjoyed this dish, the hint of Banana gave this meatloaf a fun and tasty alternative to the norm. I used Ground Turkey instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIDGEO3
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
a sweet not savory version of this would be good, such as a banana bread pudding stle dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacob & Adrian's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crockett, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I used Veggie Patty mix rather than actual beef, and copious amounts of ginger and garlic. So, I guess what I made was actually nothing like this recipe, but it served as an excellent guide for a vegan loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stroshimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I’ve been meaning to try this recipe for a while and I finally did! Husband and I loved how the meatloaf turned out. The banana flavor was very subtle, and if I didn’t know to look for it I don’t think I could have guessed what it was. It was very moist and tender. The banana was mashed really well into a really consistent texture, so it was very evenly distributed. Also, I added more onion than called for (I used half of a small onion) and that likely masked the banana flavor as well. Used rice instead of bread crumbs; just a personal preference. As per suggestions of others, I went all out and called in a Jamaican meal: served the banana meatloaf with Jamaican Coleslaw and a tropical mango salad. We will definitely make this again, maybe even make it into the standard meatloaf recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Traditional, it is not. But it absolutely fits the bill for an unusually good meal for those with a sense of adventure. I took the hint from other reviewers who said the style of food is Caribe and went with it. Rather than regular bread, I used cinnamon raisin bread in the meatloaf. As a side dish, I served mashed sweet potatoes with pinch of cinammon and brown sugar and an array of fruits like pomegranate, mango, and asian pear. There was no need to add egg, milk, or butter to any part of the meal. Fun, different, highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
A very interesting alternative to regular Meatloaf! Sometimes we see bananas as simple dessert fare but many cultures use bananas or plantains in their day-to-day meal preparations.I found the bananas lended themselves well with the mustard and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
As soon as I saw this recipe, I had to try it. It was deliciously fun to include banana in the meatloaf mix and I was secretly hoping for a cooking masterpiece. Alas, it was just OK. Good consistency, interesting flavor, but nothing really special about it so back to traditional meatloaf I go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I really liked this meatloaf! It was very tasty and I thought the flavors complimented each other quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seahawk07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
When I was looking for a new meatloaf recipe, this screamed at me to try it. I always read the reviews to see what other people thought of the recipe or did differently. Even though some thought this was an awful recipe I still had to try it. First time I made it I used half of the banana called for and made it with ground beef it was ok but I decided to give it another try with the full amount of banana and instead make it with ground turkey. THIS WAS WONDERFUL!!! It is definitely better with the turkey and lower in fat. Thanks for this recipe I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States