Banana Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
This was pretty good! I'm impressed! I thought it was a little weird, so I figured I'd give it a try. Because I didn't have any bananas, I used a pretty ripe plantain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
This was an outstanding recipe, the banana put the right amount of moisture and sweetness into the meatloaf. I used a banana that was turning brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This is NOT regular old, plain American meatloaf. This is carribean/cuban influenced. Like one of the other reviews said, you may want to substitute plantains for the bananas for a more subtle flavor. I thought this was great! Updated 7/6/10: Seven years and three children later this is still one of my favorite recipes, and my kids love it too! I always brush the outside with Pickapeppa sauce - it makes a nice glaze with a hint of spicy to complement the subtle sweetness of the banana. I've also made a pineapple or mango salsa to seve along side of it, but even grilled pineapple slices work great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. Clarke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
Great idea! The naysayers have never had Carib food. Grew up in Jamaica, so I thought this was great! I served it with a little papaya chutney on the side. Update: I made this again tonight and omited the seasoning, and added allspice, a bit of thyme, a couple of shakes of Pickapeppa, and topped it with sweet catsup. Oh, and used turkey meat. Hubby liked it better this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
The kids loved this recipe. It was super moist, and stuck together well. I suggest you watch how many bananas you use, I've made this a few times and once used too many and that's all you could taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Evans Mills, New York, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
A very interesting alternative to regular Meatloaf! Sometimes we see bananas as simple dessert fare but many cultures use bananas or plantains in their day-to-day meal preparations.I found the bananas lended themselves well with the mustard and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I’ve been meaning to try this recipe for a while and I finally did! Husband and I loved how the meatloaf turned out. The banana flavor was very subtle, and if I didn’t know to look for it I don’t think I could have guessed what it was. It was very moist and tender. The banana was mashed really well into a really consistent texture, so it was very evenly distributed. Also, I added more onion than called for (I used half of a small onion) and that likely masked the banana flavor as well. Used rice instead of bread crumbs; just a personal preference. As per suggestions of others, I went all out and called in a Jamaican meal: served the banana meatloaf with Jamaican Coleslaw and a tropical mango salad. We will definitely make this again, maybe even make it into the standard meatloaf recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Traditional, it is not. But it absolutely fits the bill for an unusually good meal for those with a sense of adventure. I took the hint from other reviewers who said the style of food is Caribe and went with it. Rather than regular bread, I used cinnamon raisin bread in the meatloaf. As a side dish, I served mashed sweet potatoes with pinch of cinammon and brown sugar and an array of fruits like pomegranate, mango, and asian pear. There was no need to add egg, milk, or butter to any part of the meal. Fun, different, highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I used Veggie Patty mix rather than actual beef, and copious amounts of ginger and garlic. So, I guess what I made was actually nothing like this recipe, but it served as an excellent guide for a vegan loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stroshimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I really liked this meatloaf! It was very tasty and I thought the flavors complimented each other quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seahawk07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States