Banana Maple Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I thought this bread was wonderful! My family loved it as well. I did use 4 bananas instead of 3. Very yummy toasted with peanut butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This is great, I am constantly looking for baked goods without sugar! & this fits the bill! Yes, it's moist --good. I added more nuts cause we love 'em. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orrville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Woodsfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I loved, loved, loved this recipe!! I did use white flour because I didn't have any wheat flour on hand, but I didn't change a single thing otherwise. The banana bread came out PERFECT! it was just sweet enough, had a perfect consistancy, and rose wonderfully! It is probably one of the BEST banana bread recipes I have gotten from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I had to mess with this recipe a bit. Looking at it, I couldn't see how the poor recipe was able to rise without leavening. And, it had too much liquid. I used butter because I happened to be out of vegetable oil, added a tsp. each of baking soda and baking powder, eliminated the maple syrup and added a 1/2 tsp. of Mapleine and a half cup of sugar for a slight sweetness. Only nuts I had was pecans, so I used those. Smells great and baked up beautifully. NOTE: This made one large banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2000
I was planning to bake several different banana breads to try a variety. But I made this one first and it was exactly what I wanted for peanut butter sandwiches (not so sweet or wet) so I made extra of this. It's not the classic banana bread. It's better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This recipe was good, and had great texture. I was shocked that even without any soda or powder, it rose! It's definitely not your typical banana bread though: it's not very sweet at all, and has an almost yeast bread consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
All right. I added baking powder and it still didn't rise as much as I would have liked. Also used more banana. If there's a way to combine this recipe's whole wheat wholesomeness with the idea behind the "Almost No Fat Banana Bread" recipe on this site, I'd be in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfenese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Subbed syrup for honey (about 3/4 cup) and added about 1/2 c splenda for flavor, and was good! Didn't rise as much as regular, but that is b/c of flour used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan J

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This isn't an overly sweet, cakey bread which i like. I did add baking soda and baking powder and it rose nicely. Also I just whipped the whole eggs and added them. All in all a nice, healthy bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Really yummy, and the pure maple syrup makes it unique, and sweet enough so that there is no need for any added sugar. My dad was visiting and basically ate the entire loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States