Banana Macadamia Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I just made this recipe and had the same problem other people had, it overflowed in my bread machine. I had to dump it into a pan and put it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Raceland, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I thought this was really good even though I kinda messed it up a bit. I used 2 very ripe bananas which, when mashed, measured out to be almost 1 cup. I cut back a bit on the water due to that. And I veganized it by subbing grapeseed oil for the butter and flaxseed/water for the egg (I didn't have any eggs so I figured what the heck). I also used an unprocessed cane sugar rather than white sugar and added 2 or 3 tablespoons of grapeseed flour for some of the bread flour. And I added a bit of vanilla paste to round our the flavor. I did have to add about 4 cups or so of flour. It smelled great when baking, and the finished product tastes great. Toasted with PB for breakfast...yummy!! Oh, and I did this by hand rathr than a bread machine...just threw everything into my KA stand mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah B
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
After reading the reviews I made several changes. If it's not listed, then it stayed the same: 1/2c water 1c overripe banana 3c bread flour 3tbs brown sugar 1tsp yeast It turned out perfectly for a 2lb loaf in my bread machine. Moist and "banana-y" Only 3* because of all the changes made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
i loved this. i made it and it was delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I'm pretty sure the yeast quantity is wrong. My bread overflowed the breadmaker. I suggest using only 1tsp, and maybe even less than that. Use the instructions that came with your machine as a guide. I had to rescue the partially baked dough and dump it onto a cookie sheet to finish baking it in a conventional oven. So it came out as a kind of large ugly lump. It tasted pretty good though! It was a little underdone, so I recommend careful probing with a cake tester. Some other reviewers noted the lack of banana flavor - my bread had an attractive and subtle banana undertone. I liked it but I guess everyone's taste is different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I didn't care that much for it. couldn't taste the bananas at all and I used ripe bananas.looking for a recipe almost similar to the one you would buy in a store. I wouldn't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
It was OK, and nice light texture, but definitely won't do again. I was looking forward to using my macadamia nuts given to me by Australian visitors, but think this was a waste of them. Could not taste banana at all, and not suitable for sandwiches etc. Thanks for the suggestion though - willing to try most things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This came out great! I added 1/2 cup of sweetened coconut flakes and it was perfect. It was moist with a subtle banana flavor and just sweet enough. Next time I'll reduce the flour to 3 cups due to the bread rising too high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADESTAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Diamond Bar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I used ripe bananas and slightly less banana than called for. I notice now that the recipe calls for mashed banana--presumably not ripe. The dough was runny. It rose over the top of the pan and oozed down the sides. I had to scrape it out to control the burning. In 13 years of using bread machines, this is the first time I have seen this. The bread tasted good and had a nice crust to it where it touched the pan. I used 2/3 cup of pecans instead of macadamia nuts. The pecans gave the bread a slightly characteristically bitter flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This bread wasn't what I expected it to be. I was looking for a traditional banana bread. It was more like a regular loaf of bread. I guess it was the yeast. I should have known that. However, it tasted very good. It was moist and had a nice banana flavor. Just not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GERRYG58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States