Banana Loaf Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2000
The best banana flavor of any I've tried. Took some to work & got recipe requests. I baked in a bundt pan & put a lite glaze on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Using a cake mix and pudding mix makes this recipe WAY too sweet for me, although I really did like the flavor..Very banana-y!! If you are looking for something like banana bread, though, this may not be the one for you. If you are looking for a sweet, sweet cake, you will probably love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I was expecting more of a banana flavor. The batter was quite flavorful, and when this was baking it smelled excellent! However, the banana flavor just didn't come through as much as I thought it would. Next time I'm going to add banana extract, too. I liked that this was very easy to make and moist - it's definitely a cake and not a quick bread! I added vanilla and cinnamon to the batter, although I would leave out nuts next time. This is a pretty versatile recipe - add coconut or rum, increase banana flavor, add strawberies or chocolate chips. They would all probably produce interesting variations. For muffins pour 1/3 cup batter into lined muffin tins and bake 30 minutes (sea level) at 350F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
deliciously moist! this taste so good, but I made a few changes, I put 6 teaspoons of Ener-G egg replacer in w/ the 1 cup of water, and I used 1/4 cup applesauce in place of the oil. I am going to make this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I was so surprised to find this recipe on the site. I've been making it since I was a teenager - always a family favorite. My teenagers love it. Great for snacking on, having with tea or coffee, bringing to brunches, it travels well in the car and always, always, always stays moist. 1 small banana is all you need and it turns out perfect every time. Glad to see someone post this valued family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This is a surprisingly good cake. I froze one of the loaves and had the other right away. After thawing the other loaf after a month, it was as moist as the original. An excellent recipe that I will use over and over. Thank you Cindy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Show Low Bob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rotonda West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
loved it. Better than fresh baked banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gloversville, New York, USA
Living In: Clyde, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I scoured this Web site for days looking for a banana cake recipe to test for my son's birthday coming up. He is banana CRAZY (and I'm not exaggerating!!). I used a Ducan Hines butter yellow cake mix and made it to package directions all except for instead of using water for the mix I used milk but half the amount, then added 3 mashed bananas, and the pudding mix. The cupcakes were so moist they FELL IN in the middle. They didn't even need icing, but I made homemade cream cheese icing anyway (8 oz cream cheese, 1 stick softened butter, 1 box powdered sugar, 1 tsp vanilla) and sprinkled them with chopped pecans. I sent the leftovers to daycare with Jacob and the kids devoured them! These will DEFINITELY be at his birthday party coming up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacobAllensMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This is a really good, moist cake. I use 3 bananas, or about 1 cup mashed. I have also substituted a chocolate cake mix for the yellow called for in the recipe; and have used instant vanilla or french vanilla pudding. I too omit the nuts. When using the chocolate cake mix, I sprinkle powdered sugar on the finished cake; or sprinkle brown sugar on the yellow cake before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Super Yummy, the best banana bread I've ever had!!!! Very easy to make, moist, and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States