Banana Loaf Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2000
The best banana flavor of any I've tried. Took some to work & got recipe requests. I baked in a bundt pan & put a lite glaze on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Super Yummy, the best banana bread I've ever had!!!! Very easy to make, moist, and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This is a surprisingly good cake. I froze one of the loaves and had the other right away. After thawing the other loaf after a month, it was as moist as the original. An excellent recipe that I will use over and over. Thank you Cindy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Show Low Bob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rotonda West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Using a cake mix and pudding mix makes this recipe WAY too sweet for me, although I really did like the flavor..Very banana-y!! If you are looking for something like banana bread, though, this may not be the one for you. If you are looking for a sweet, sweet cake, you will probably love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Sorry, but I was terribly disappointed with this recipe. It was so similar to the Pistachio bread recipe at this site that our family loves that I was expecting similar results. It turned out extremely dry and did not even have a very good flavor. I will not make again. One star may be too generous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I was so surprised to find this recipe on the site. I've been making it since I was a teenager - always a family favorite. My teenagers love it. Great for snacking on, having with tea or coffee, bringing to brunches, it travels well in the car and always, always, always stays moist. 1 small banana is all you need and it turns out perfect every time. Glad to see someone post this valued family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandi M.
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
THIS IS A GREAT RECIPE. IT IS SIMPLE AND IT IS VERY GOOD. MY 4 YR OLD HELPED ME MAKE THIS LAST NIGHT. WE MAKE HALF INTO MUFFINS AND HALF INTO A LOAF. MY DAUGHTER NEVER HAS ATE "CRUMBLY" THINGS, NEVER MADE IT PAST THE ICING ON ANY KIND OF CAKE OR CUPCAKE, BUT SHE ATE 2 OF THE MUFFIN ONES LAST NIGHT AND KEPT TELLING ME OVER AND OVER IT WAS THE BEST THING SHE EVER TASTED. MAYBE BECAUSE SHE NEVER ACTUALLY MADE IT TO THE CAKE BEFORE AND ALWAYS REFUSED A MUFFIN/CUPCAKE WITH NO ICING ON IT. I DID NOT PUT ANY ICING ON ANY OF IT. IT IS VERY GOOD PLAIN WITH A GLASS OF MILK OR COFFEE. IT IS GOOD WARM OR COLD AS WELL. IT IS THE DAY AFTER AND ALL THAT IS LEFT IS ALMOST 3 PEICES. A VERY SIMPLE RECIPE THAT IS WORTH AT LEAST 5 STARS TO ME. I DID USE 2 BANANAS MASHED UP AND ADDED TO THE WALNUTS BECAUSE WE ALL LOVE THEM. THANKS FOR A WONDERFULLY SIMPLE AND DELICIOUS RECIPE. I WILL BE MAKING THIS AGAIN AND AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jasper, Florida, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
deliciously moist! this taste so good, but I made a few changes, I put 6 teaspoons of Ener-G egg replacer in w/ the 1 cup of water, and I used 1/4 cup applesauce in place of the oil. I am going to make this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I was expecting more of a banana flavor. The batter was quite flavorful, and when this was baking it smelled excellent! However, the banana flavor just didn't come through as much as I thought it would. Next time I'm going to add banana extract, too. I liked that this was very easy to make and moist - it's definitely a cake and not a quick bread! I added vanilla and cinnamon to the batter, although I would leave out nuts next time. This is a pretty versatile recipe - add coconut or rum, increase banana flavor, add strawberies or chocolate chips. They would all probably produce interesting variations. For muffins pour 1/3 cup batter into lined muffin tins and bake 30 minutes (sea level) at 350F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Good but the banana flavor did not come through as much as I like. If you like a very sweet loaf cake with a mild banana flavor this will work great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States