Banana Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This is the best banana cake I've had. This cake is so moist and delicious. I used a 9x13 pan and cooked it a few minutes more but checked it every minute or so. My family loved it!---- RaynellW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by natzsm
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This recipe truly distinguishes a BANANA CAKE from simply banana bread. I baked mine in a 4 inch deep 8 inch round pan and just dumped all the batter in and it reached a little more than 1/2 of the pan. I checked at 3o minutes as the recipe recommends but the center was still soft so I slightly decreased the temp so it wouldn't brown too much and ended up baking it an additional 15 minutes or a total of 45 minutes. I used cake flour instead of all purpose and added an additional banana and it came out GREAT! No need for any glaze or frosting on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natzsm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Makati, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Absolutely fantastic. This is the first time I've tried making caramel frosting and it came out runnier than I expected, but no big deal, it still worked and tasted extraordiary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This cake recipe is delicious, very moist. I used 4 bananas and used 3 cake pans for this one recipe. I extended the baking time by 15 minutes or when toothpick comes out clean. I made cream cheese frosting instead the caramel icing shown. Layered icing heavily between layers and on top. It taste like you would imagine Grandma's would taste, so home-made, moist, and rich. Cream Cheese Frosting: Two 8 ounce Cream Cheese Two cups Powdered Sugar One Stick Margarine One tsp. Vanilla Cream softened margarine, cheese, and sugar together Stir in vanilla So Good! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I made the cake exactly as the directions said; however, the cake came out heavy. Perhaps I messed up with the egg whites? It is still very moist and my family loves it. I also did as instructed on the frosting, but it came out chewy while hot and hard now that it's cooled. I was hoping for the gooey caramel frosting like is posted on the page. My husband and sons love it, so I'm sure I will make it again, but I may try cake flour next time and also will see if I can figure out how to make the frosting more of a sauce type instead of hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjntsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This the first cake I've ever made from scratch and it came out wonderful. What a hit at our house. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I only tried the frosting and it was great. I didn't have a thermometer but it still turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethel Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
5 stars for the caramel sauce/frosting, 4 for the cake. I made the cake in a 9x13 pan and just used the caramel as a sauce to drizzle over it. I used lite soymilk instead of the evaporated milk and the flavor was still awesome. I used 1/2 WW and 1/2 AP flour for the cake portion, subbed oil for butter and flax for the eggs. Still a very good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Lightly fragrant, moist, and soft. But this recipe seems to be missing some flavoring ingredients. I subbed cake flour for all purpose, used 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp margarine, 1/4 cup less sugar, and sour cream for the buttermilk. Also added 1/4 cup raisins, 1/2 tsp vanilla and coconut extract and omitted the frosting, it's sweet enough as is. Next time I'll add some cinnamon and 1/4 tsp salt too. Also, the cake is much better a day or two after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
WOW, is this sweet! Too sweet for me, although my husband loved it. I think I'll add some salt to the caramel frosting next time, to achieve more of the sweet/salty balance I associate with caramel. Other than the excessive sweetness (which is just a matter of personal preference), the cake was very good - moist and extremely flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States